Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Wine 1.3.30 Released

The Wine development release 1.3.30 is now available.

What's new in this release:

  • DirectSound reimplemented on top of MMDevAPI.
  • Support for StretchBlt in the DIB engine.
  • User interface improvements in HTML help.
  • Some MSXML fixes.
  • Performance improvements in cmd.
  • Various bug fixes.

The source is available now. Binary packages are in the process of being built, and will appear soon at their respective download locations.



Bugs fixed in 1.3.30:

201 Igowin: masking problem - image is not transparent
4140 Emu48 with HP49 ROM: parts of emulated screen stays black
5180 vb6 ide can't run a simple test case
5181 vb6 can't compile a simple file
5322 Both MSVC6 and MSVB6 installers die very early
5623 GetAsyncKeyState wrong if querying process doesn't have focus
5841 XML database manipulation through ADO nonfunctional (support for MSXML2.XMLPARSER.3.0 -> CLSID {F5078F31-C551-11D3-89B9-0000F81FE221} needed)
6620 ALEPH500 crashes with X11DRV_DIB_DeleteDIBSection
7182 Arabic letters not positioned correctly
7563 neoragex 0.6b does not run
9400 Panzer General III Scorched Earth random hang, threading-related
9454 Panzer General III Scorched Earth hang with seh:setup_exception nested exception
12450 Adobe Acrobat Pro 6 & 7 / Acrobat Reader 6 & 7 -- "Detect and Repair" does nothing (MsiReinstallProduct)
13383 Firefox 3.0rc1 crashes on startup on 64bit Kubuntu 8.04 [dogfood]
13502 BRenBot application fails to start
13564 VeohTV beta login window is improperly drawn
13885 Visio 2003 crash on digit entry or paste
13985 Skype 4 crashes
14118 wine needs its own dxdiag
14316 Elona is really slow
15186 Grand Theft Auto crashes on game engine start
15187 Combos changes in Win16 dialogs not noticed by TopDraw
15218 Microsoft Office 2007: Exiting Groove Manager/Server crashes in kernel32
15258 Program for programming HAM radios exits with 541 error
15760 Wrong window size in QIP
15945 WinSnap can't capture screen.
16216 Arturia Minimoog VST: Interface controls doesn't draw well
16270 ratDVD installer has (non-fatal) crash in winmm/time
16491 Pindersoft DotNet Test hangs when advancing months (monthcal day state/notification data handling)
16590 Audiosurf: Lines not breaking properly
16594 Oberon game launcher does not show the buttons to launch the game.
17068 HDR not correctly rendered (Counter-Strike: Source)
17864 ipstats.c:1427: warning: 'append_udp_row' defined but not used on FreeBSD/OS X
18086 Wine should provide a Tango compliant Icon
18415 MarketMaker Crash during install
18582 DVDFab: changing window focus causes window to shrink and can't bring back properly
18651 Microsoft Reader hangs in full screen mode
18979 Installation of Microsoft SQL Server Express crashes
19196 XIII: no textures and fonts
19310 Rosetta Stone crashes
19645 Lotus 123 97 causes a page fault
19740 Google Earth: "View in Google Maps" doesn't work (dogfood)
19755 Open Watcom 1.8's binw/wcc.exe complains "Not enough memory on exec"
19975 runasdate: child processes do not receive (adjusted) time
19976 runasdate: running without /immediate causes a crash
20009 Scrabble Online failed assertion
20030 game, Taikodom doesn't run
20364 The Dig (from STEAM) doesn't run on Arch Linux x86_64
20462 Unable to uninstall Caesar IV
20565 Emu42: change in StretchBlt causes black display background
20600 City of Heroes crashes when disabling 3D sound in preferences
20688 FIFA 2010: Sound does not work in multiplayer (Internet Game) match
20778 Open Office Writer crash when press on Hebrew letters
20872 Sim City 4 Deluxe: No texture in the minimap while loading a city
20873 SimCity 4 Deluxe crash while loading the game
20966 Everquest 1 crashes on startup
20980 Tiny globe in Google Earth in DirectX mode [dogfood]
21144 cmd missing newline in output?
21409 Progecad 2009 Pro crashes on save - save as
21533 Civilization II 16-bit crashes when showing the main menu.
21647 Random hang in Europa Universalis III
21685 ICQ 7 exits on load
21686 ICQ 7 page fault
21710 MotorM4X menu background image is not shown
21885 uTorrent: inactive toolbar buttons have non-transparent icons
22787 Irfanview: Crashes after clicking on website link
22982 SyncToy help links always lead to the default overview page
23113 winrar 3.93 installer displays garbage instead of licensing agreement
23619 GTA San Andreas doesn't find widescreen video modes
23850 Aliens vs Predator (2010) silently exits during startup, needs IGameExplorer::VerifyAccess (parental controls)
24153 Adobe Audition 3 parts of interface not drawn
24278 Transparent PNG are shown inverted by applications compiled with Lazarus
24297 Google Earth Plugin install via BITS quits with an error message
24859 EnhanceMySe7en: Fails to start
25293 Starcraft II cursor on-game is blank
25448 Filemaker Pro 11 can't be started from Linux main menu icon - Invalid or incorrect link
25524 Hexplore installer complains about not being able to open a tmp file.
25549 Mega Games Pack fails to draw bitmap graphics
25552 winecfg audio test under-run errors
25591 MS Office Pro 2010 Trial: garbled display on ribbon and file tab
25714 All tool buttons in CHM viewer are displayed as printer
25948 explorerframe/nstc tests shows some a leak in comctl32 under valgrind
26009 Adventure games from Kheops Studio have wrong text alignment
26053 urlmon/sec_mgr tests show some invalid writes under valgrind
26601 The Void: audio stutters badly (when using ALSA full hardware acceleration)
26640 Disciples II: sound artifacts during music playback
26816 native msi2 installer exits with status 20, can't get version of mspatcha.dll
27283 can not start IBankWizard.msi installer
27301 Space Empires: Star Fury doesn't display text in-game (orm=backbuffer)
27382 WinRAR 4.x installer crashes when being run from certain filesystems
27449 "pause" command behaviour differs from windows
27540 Typing of the Dead demo: Crashes upon launch when directsound is set to emulation
27542 Iexplore can't open url regression 2
27557 Alice: Madness Returns - Securom Matroschka doesn't work out of the box
27928 Program SIMPLO installer crashes
27981 Ems Mysql manager and Ems Sql Manager do not start anymore wine 1.3.25
27998 IE7 & IE8 have black back ground where page tabs should be and .GIF's no longer render
28024 icy tower: installer wont launch
28094 pwsafe 3.26: login box logo is replaced by a black square
28112 Missing mouse cursor in menus of Atlantis Evolution
28130 CamelSystems Power Post crashes
28255 d3dx9/shader.ok fails with WINEDEBUG=warn+heap
28262 mshtml/style.ok crashes when WINEDEBUG=warn+heap
28284 HoverAce: audio becomes distorted then it cuts out during races (Alsa=emulation)
28286 Backyard Baseball 2001 won't start
28294 XPR108258.exe (csf player installer) crash
28348 Age of Empires 2 rendering broken with OpenGL renderer
28351 Hundred Swords demo: Fails to initialize Direct3D
28369 WinRar 3.93 installer crashes after starting
28376 djdecks for DX does not work
28383 secur32/schannel test consistently fails on 32-bit debian testing
28408 vbscript gc test crashes with WINEDEBUG=warn+heap
28415 MIDI Broken (in, at least, the program VSTHost)
28449 GnuTLS internal error in wine test case
28466 Copy-Paste bug
28484 .NET Framework 4.0: Crash after extracting files - unimplemented wer.WerReportAddDump
28494 Purple areas in MS Word 2003's horizontal ruler
28499 Enterprise Architect docked window icons fail no longer have a transparent background
28502 Everest Poker and Casino crash when loading through proxy
28517 Pikachu Volleyball stops playing sound effects
28521 Black box around the mouse cursor
28525 Wine doesn't start Dosbox if $PWD = ~/.wine
28526 HTML-Kit 292's small icons have a white background
28534 Igowin: miscolored shadows
28561 crash while installing Vixi Freecorder with mono28/mono210 installed and without gecko-dbg installed
28565 Mask color showing as background in toolbar buttons
28566 winedbg crashes on gdb command remote file get
28567 gdiplus/image.ok crashes on win64
28568 secur32/schannel test often hangs with gnutls 2.12.10-2
28587 League Of Legends PVP.net client can't retrieve profile information
28591 Guild Wars: the audio track includes loud static bursts while playing the background music
28606 Gnome-screensaver cannot lock screen while runing full-screen games
28610 SystemParametersInfo(SPI_GETNONCLIENTMETRICS) should tolerate larger ncm.cbSize values
28630 Crash on start of ahnenblatt





Sunday, October 9, 2011

CrossOver 10.1.1 and CrossOver Games 10.1.2 released

CodeWeavers has released a maintenance update for CrossOver and CrossOver Games, the change logs with some of the many changes made in the releases are provided below.

Change Log For CrossOver Games

10.1.2 CrossOver Games
  • Added a workaround for a bug in OS X 10.7 Lion. Many games running in a virtual desktop cause a crash. This can be resolved by setting the CX_LEAK_XPLUGIN_SURFACES environment variable.
  • Work around a bug in OS X 10.6.8 Snow Leopard. 10.6.8 generated corrupt icon files which caused occasional Finder crashes. Now we use a different API to generate icon files which bypasses the issue.
  • Changed behavior of group permissions on certain files. Resolves an issue with .docx files on certain file systems.

Change Log For CrossOver

10.1.1 CrossOver

  • Added a workaround for a bug in OS X 10.7 Lion. Many games running in a virtual desktop cause a crash. This can be resolved by setting the CX_LEAK_XPLUGIN_SURFACES environment variable.
  • Work around a bug in OS X 10.6.8 Snow Leopard. 10.6.8 generated corrupt icon files which caused occasional Finder crashes. Now we use a different API to generate icon files which bypasses the issue.
  • Changed behavior of group permissions on certain files. Resolves an issue with .docx files on certain file systems.


Friday, October 7, 2011

Alexandre Julliard Wineconf 2011 keynote

Jon Parshall the COO at CodeWeavers posted a video of Alexandre Julliard's Wineconf 2011 keynote. Alexandre Julliard, is the Maintainer of the Wine Project, in his keynote he describes the current state of Wine, and what's in the works for upcoming Wine 1.4 release.





Thursday, October 6, 2011

Wineskin Winery 1.2 Released

Just a couple of small updates, but getting in gear for a Wineskin 2.5 update and WS8 engines soon, so thought I'd get the Winery bugs fixed and pushed out.

  • Downloaded Engines, and Engines you ignore will never prompt as new again
  • If your downloaded engine is corrupted, Wineskin Winery will prompt you instead of trying to build and making a broken wrapper.

Have fun!


New Codeweavers CrossOver discount dealcode coupons avaliable

The folks over at CodeWeavers have given us two new dealcodes. :) A dealcode is coupon code that can be used in their online store. The two new dealcodes are "CxForMe" this dealcode is good for a 15% discount on CrossOver or CrossOver Games for Mac and Linux. The second dealcode is "WinOnUnix" and it will get you a 10% discount on any product in their store.

They also have a promotion going on for Power BibleCD users, this isn't a dealcode but a promotion. You will need to go to this page and purchase CrossOver with a 25% discount just for Power BibleCD users.

Here is some other Theological Applications that are known to work with CrossOver for Mac and Linux.

  • Bible Illustrator for Windows
  • BibleWorks
  • e-Sword
  • Online Bible
  • PC Bible Atlas
  • Quickverse
  • SwordSearcher
  • Watchtower Library
  • And many more...
So if you need to run a business application, bible study application or just need a break and want to play for favorite game, use one of these dealcodes and enjoy a nice discount on CrossOver and CrossOver Games.

Mac Review Crossover Games 10

Once upon a time, Mac was a happy little gaming platform, with such breakout releases as Puzzle, Through the Looking Glass and Myst. But then a tragedy fell upon the world of Mac, their arch-nemesis Microsoft created an evil potion called Direct X, and Microsoft slipped this poison into the drinks of game developers. Upon consuming this poison, the developers turned into mindless slaves, to be controlled by the evil Microsoft, and at Microsofts bidding, the developers stole games away from their Mac homesteads.

For years upon years, nobody heard Mac’s plight to have these games returned to them, but eventually a hero heard the cries of help from distressed Macs everywhere, and this brave hero, who we shall call Jeremy White (or Jer, for short), banded together a gaggle plethora schooltable of brave knights and knightesses, whom he called CodeWeavers.

Together, the CodeWeavers found a way for both Mac and PC to share games (and not just games, but other software) together, but over all the years a lot of games had fallen victim to stockholm syndrome, and so the CodeWeavers had to find a way to trick these games into playing with their Mac parents and siblings, and so they created a Direct X anti-venom, which they dubbed “Cross-over Games”.

And everyone lived happily ever after etc etc.

So after that little bit of non-explanation, for the last fortnight I have been testing/ stressing and torturing a little piece of software called Cross-over games, and this is my blog/ review about my experiences with the software that has been very lovingly nurtured all these years, just waiting for me to come along and tell it Santa Claus isn’t real.

My game of choice to test out Cross-over was RIFT, and my base to test against was an ACER 2.8GHz Core 2 Duo machine, with 4GB DDR3 RAM and 1GB NVIDIA graphics of some description (I can’t be expected to remember all the ins and outs) running Windows 7, with Cross-over running on my Mac, which is a 2.8GHz Intel Core i5 with 4GB DDR3 RAM and 1GB some kind of graphics card running Snow Leopard 10.6.8

For the sake of this blog, I only downloaded the trial version of cross-over games, which gave me a two week trial basis of the software. I cannot say with any certainty if the trial version is perhaps limited in its abilities compared to the full version or not, but from what I can tell, it looks like it is offering as much as what you would expect from a full version of the software.

I had a bit of a bumpy start installing cross-over, and an even bumpier road ahead when trying to install RIFT, as I wasn’t sure if I was meant to download RIFT then open the .exe using Cross-over as the launch tool, or if I was to just open Cross-over and choose RIFT as an installation option, however, after some mucking around I finally had something happen and next thing I knew I was waiting 6 hours for RIFT to download a patch.

After that was done, I jumped into the game to test how well a native Microsoft game was going to run on my Mac with the assistance of Cross-over Games. Now bear in mind that the people of CodeWeavers give the games that they work on ratings, these ratings basically go Bronze, Silver and Gold, which in short means won’t work, will work but has issues, and works as well as it does on its native lands. RIFT had a silver rating so I was expecting some bugs.

I unfortunately stumbled across one of the worst bugs you could have the misfortune of running in to… LAG!

I started the graphics and detail on as high as they could go (I can run WoW in a windowed box with full detail and have no latency issues… well except when in Orgrimmar), and it took me a few minutes to run about 50 metres in the game, so I progressively stepped down the level of detail until I was at low settings for everything, and then I had a good, consistent level of latency so I could run around and play the game. On the ACER, I had the game running on medium settings before latency kicked in, and the MAC is by far a superior machine when compared technical spec for technical spec.

I played the game for a while with just Cross-over/RIFT running to see how well it handled, and despite the fact I needed my graphic settings lower, the game ran surprisingly well, in fact, if I wasn’t aware of Cross-over games and had seen a friend running RIFT on their Mac, I would’ve asked with all sincerity and excitement, “Have Trion Worlds got off their asses and released RIFT for Mac?”

So… Cross-over passed test one, it would in fact run RIFT on my machine, so bring on test 2. I know my Mac can handle doing a lot, so it was time to start using my cores. When I normally game, I tend to have music playing, I will have twitter running, normally a few websites, plus I tend to not actually quit previous things I may have been doing previously, just minimise them, such as pages or iPhoto. So I opened them all up and hopped back into RIFT, often command+tabbing out to check other things.

The only difference I noticed was a slight delay between command-tabbing in and out of the game, but apart from that, game play was unaffected and still was running just as well as if on a native machine. Actually, compared to the alt-tabbing I did on the ACER, the Mac actually had a better response time. I’m not sure if that was because of the Mac being a newer and superior machine or not, but either way, I’m giving points to Cross-over for that one.

My final test, run EVERYTHING on my machine, really make the cores on my machine work themselves out and flex their muscles, in the hope that maybe I would deviate much needed processor and graphic support away from the game and see if I could make Cross-over games shit itself and give up the ghost. By running everything, that also included other games on my machine (except my Steam account games, as it would only let me run one game at a time). I kinda figured that how well this test went was more dependant on my Mac than Cross-over games, but I wanted to get an indication comparing against the other games running on my machine, if Cross-over would be performing as well as the others or not.

This test just about killed my ACER, I had tab times of about 2 minutes as the machine struggled to jump from game to game. The Mac, while performing more admirably, still was having a little issue maintaining the previous command-tab time of less than 1 second, but was still keeping tab times under the 15 second mark.

So the grand verdict, well all of my games were lagging like I’ve never seen them lag before, although still playable, just no longer enjoyable… including… RIFT, which means that Cross-over was keeping up with the games that run natively on my Mac. I have to say, I am hugely impressed with this software.

Now this blog is starting to get a tad longer than what I normally prefer my blogs to be, but over the past 2 weeks I have corresponded via email with one of the members of CodeWeavers, also known as the COO (Chief Operating Officer), Jon Parshall. I also did some research into CodeWeavers, but maybe I’ll make this experience a two-parter and write about all of that next week.

In the meantime, if you are interested in getting your hands on Cross-over for your Mac (or Linux machine) then you get a trial version or purchase the full version by visiting http://www.codeweavers.com/products/cxgames/.

You can also read up on some of the other great software available from Codeweavers by visiting their website.