Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Bordeaux helps support Wineconf 2010 and FreeBSD

Projects die without dedicated people to manage them and having funding for an FOSS project allows for those dedicated people to spend more time devoted to the project itself (instead of working that silly "day job"). If you have been by my blog before then you know I write about Wine software every so often and on a few specific occasions about Bordeaux, a commercial Wine product.

Now through October 3rd, 2010 Bordeaux is running a special donation promotion to help out a couple of important open source projects. The first of these is the annual Wineconf, that is to be held in Paris, France this year. The second is FreeBSDNews.net, a good news source for what is going on in the BSD community. The third and final project is the FreeBSD foundation itself, which is a non-profit organization.

Full Article

Friday, August 27, 2010

Follow Wine Reviews and Bordeaux on Twitter and Digg

If you would like to follow Bordeaux on Twitter just click the image below and start following us.



If you would like to follow Wine reviews on Digg just click the image below and start following us.

Thursday, August 26, 2010

Bordeaux 2.0.8 for Linux Released

The Bordeaux Technology Group released Bordeaux 2.0.8 for Linux today. Bordeaux 2.0.8 is a maintenance release that fixes a number of small bugs. With this release we have updated firefox to 3.6.8, Added support for Apples Safari 5.0 Web Browser, Updated to the latest winetricks release and fixed desktop shortcuts.

Bordeaux 2.0.8 was built on Ubuntu 10.04 LTS, so you will need to have GLIBC 2.11 or higher before Bordeaux will work properly.

We bundle our own Wine build and many tools and libraries that Wine depends upon. With this release we bundle Wine 1.2, Cabextract, DIB Engine, Pulse Audio, Mozilla Gecko, Unzip, Wget and other support libraries and tools.

The cost of Bordeaux 2.0.8 is $20.00. Anyone who has purchased Bordeaux in the past six months is entitled to a free upgrade. Bordeaux comes with six months of upgrades and support and of course a 30-day money back guarantee. For the next month we are having a 50% donation promotion, 50% of all sales will go toward supporting WineConf 2010 and the FreeBSD Foundation. More information can be found in this post.

Supported Applications/Games:
  • Microsoft Office 2007
  • Microsoft Office 2003
  • Microsoft Office 2000
  • Microsoft Office 97
  • Microsoft Office Visio 2003
  • Microsoft Office Project 2003
  • Adobe Photoshop 6
  • Adobe Image Ready 3
  • Adobe Photoshop 7
  • Adobe Image Ready 7
  • Adobe Photoshop CS
  • Adobe Photoshop CS2
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 7
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 6
  • FireFox 3.6.8 and multimedia plug ins
  • Apple Safari 5.0 Web Browser
  • Steam and Steam based Games
  • Google SketchUp 7.1
  • VLC 1.1.0
  • Apple QuickTime 6.5.2 Player
  • IrfanView 4.27 (Image files only)
  • Winetricks support
About Bordeaux:

The Bordeaux Technology Group is a software services and development company specializing in Windows compatibility software. Users of Linux, BSD, OpenSolaris and Mac systems from time to time find themselves in the need to run specialized Windows software. The Bordeaux suite enables access to these programs and data in a seamless and low cost manner without requiring licensing of Microsoft Technology. The Bordeaux Group also provides migration services and support for alternative operating systems specializing in Windows compatibility.

There is a multitude of software developed only for the Windows operating system and even when software vendors port their applications to another platform, generally it lacks features that the Windows version contains. The only solution these developers face is to have access to both systems for testing which leads to increased infrastructure demands, and wasted project resources. If you are vendor interested in supporting your application on Linux, BSD, Solaris or Mac OS X or a software user that needs to run a Windows application on Linux, BSD, OpenSolaris or Mac OS X we can help.

Version 2.0.8 New Features:
  • Updated FireFox to 3.6.8
  • Fixed Desktop shortcuts
  • Added support for Safari 5.0
  • Updated to the latest winetricks release

Monday, August 23, 2010

Bordeaux 2.0.8 for FreeBSD and PC-BSD Released

The Bordeaux Technology Group released Bordeaux 2.0.8 for FreeBSD and PC-BSD today. Bordeaux 2.0.8 is a maintenance release that fixes a number of small bugs. With this release we have updated firefox to 3.6.8, Updated to the latest winetricks release and fixed desktop shortcuts.

Bordeaux 2.0.8 was built on FreeBSD 8, PC-BSD 8 and PC-BSD 7.1 We provide a .sh installer for FreeBSD and .pbi installers for PC-BSD.

Depending on sales, we plan to add Pulse Audio to the next major BSD release. So if you would like to have Pulse Audio in Wine on FreeBSD and PC-BSD make a purchase. Help spread the word!

We bundle our own Wine build and many tools and libraries that Wine depends upon. With this release we bundle Wine 1.2, Cabextract, DIB Engine, Mozilla Gecko, Unzip, Wget and other support libraries and tools.

The cost of Bordeaux 2.0.8 is $20.00. Anyone who has purchased Bordeaux in the past six months is entitled to a free upgrade. Bordeaux comes with six months of upgrades and support and of course a 30-day money back guarantee.

Supported Applications/Games:
  • Microsoft Office 2007
  • Microsoft Office 2003
  • Microsoft Office 2000
  • Microsoft Office 97
  • Microsoft Office Visio 2003
  • Microsoft Office Project 2003
  • Adobe Photoshop 6
  • Adobe Image Ready 3
  • Adobe Photoshop 7
  • Adobe Image Ready 7
  • Adobe Photoshop CS
  • Adobe Photoshop CS2
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 7
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 6
  • FireFox 3.6.8 and multimedia plug ins
  • Steam and Steam based Games
  • Google SketchUp 7.1
  • VLC 1.1.0
  • Apple QuickTime 6.5.2 Player
  • IrfanView 4.27 (Image files only)
  • Winetricks support
About Bordeaux:

The Bordeaux Technology Group is a software services and development company specializing in Windows compatibility software. Users of Linux, BSD, OpenSolaris and Mac systems from time to time find themselves in the need to run specialized Windows software. The Bordeaux suite enables access to these programs and data in a seamless and low cost manner without requiring licensing of Microsoft Technology. The Bordeaux Group also provides migration services and support for alternative operating systems specializing in Windows compatibility.

There is a multitude of software developed only for the Windows operating system and even when software vendors port their applications to another platform, generally it lacks features that the Windows version contains. The only solution these developers face is to have access to both systems for testing which leads to increased infrastructure demands, and wasted project resources. If you are vendor interested in supporting your application on Linux, BSD, Solaris or Mac OS X or a software user that needs to run a Windows application on Linux, BSD, OpenSolaris or Mac OS X we can help.

Version 2.0.8 New Features:
  • Updated FireFox to 3.6.8
  • Fixed Desktop shortcuts
  • Updated to the latest winetricks release

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Last day to take advantage of the 50% off Bordeaux Sale

Tomorrow will be the last day of our huge 50% off sale of Bordeaux for Linux, Mac, FreeBSD, PCBSD and OpenSolaris. Bordeaux for Linux and BSD has been marked down to only $10.00 and Bordeaux for Mac and OpenSolaris will cost you only $12.50 during this sale.

This sale will end on Friday August 20th 2010. So, If you have ever wanted to try Wine or Bordeaux and have put off your purchase in the past this is the perfect time to try Bordeaux and save 50% off the normal selling price.

Supported Applications/Games:

  • Microsoft Office 2007
  • Microsoft Office 2003
  • Microsoft Office 2000
  • Microsoft Office 97
  • Microsoft Office Visio 2003
  • Microsoft Office Project 2003
  • Adobe Photoshop 6
  • Adobe Image Ready 3
  • Adobe Photoshop 7
  • Adobe Image Ready 7
  • Adobe Photoshop CS
  • Adobe Photoshop CS2
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 7
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 6
  • Firefox 3.6.3 and plugins
  • Steam and Steam based Games
  • Apple QuickTime 6.5.2 Player
  • IrfanView 4.27 and plugins (Image files only)
  • VLC Multimedia player 1.1.0
  • Winetricks support
Bordeaux 2.0.8 will be our next release and will have some minor features and bug fixes over our current 2.0.6 release.
Anyone who purchases Bordeaux during this sale can freely upgrade to our next release and any further updates for the next six months.

New Features Planned for Bordeaux 2.0.8
  • Some minor WineTricks fixes
  • Add Support for Firefox 3.6.8 and multimedia plugins
  • Add Support for Apples Safari 5.0 browser
Bordeaux 2.0.8 is in the final testing phase and will be released within the next couple days, so if you need to run Windows Applications and Games on your Unix operating system this is your chance to get Bordeaux at 50% off the normal selling price.

About BordeauxGroup, Inc.:
Founded in 2008, The Bordeaux Group focuses on the development of Free Software solutions enabling legacy Windows applications to run on Unix systems and other non-Windows operating systems. Bordeaux is designed to aide in the transition and migration to non-Windows platforms by bringing Windows software to Linux, Mac, FreeBSD, PCBSD and OpenSolaris. The company is privately held. For more information about the Bordeaux Group please visit http://www.bordeauxgroup.com

Bordeaux for Linux is a trademark of the Bordeaux Group, Incorporated. Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds. Windows is a registered trademark, and Office is a trademark, of Microsoft Corporation in the United States and other countries. Photoshop is a trademark of Adobe in the United States and/or other countries. All other trademarks and registered trademarks are owned by their respective companies.


Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Thousands Play Starcraft 2 on Linux with Wine

I play Starcraft 2 on Linux and apparently I'm not the only one. At the end of last month I wrote a brief guide for getting Starcraft 2 working under Linux using Wine. In the last ten days that guide has gotten nearly nine thousand views and currently has ninety comments.

Now Ive talked before about why I think there is a market for creating games for Linux and I think my above statistics only reinforce this idea. Dont believe me? Think about it this way - lets assume half of the people (4,500) who have checked out my guide have purchased the game and would prefer to play it on Linux. The game currently retails for 60$ USD.





Full Article




Monday, August 2, 2010

Bordeaux 50% off sale in celebration of the Wine 1.2 release

The Bordeaux Technology Group is proud to announce a one month sale on Bordeaux for Linux, Mac, FreeBSD, PCBSD and OpenSolaris. With the release of Wine 1.2 it marks the first stable Wine release in nearly two years. And with this release we would like to celebrate and show our appreciation for all the hard work that has gone into the Wine 1.2 release. And one way of doing this is having our first ever sale here at the Bordeaux Group.

Over the past two years their has been a large multitude of changes that have taken place in Wine. Now with Wine 1.2 being released users can run more of their favorite Applications and Games on their unix operating system of choice.

Bordeaux for Linux and BSD will be marked down to only $10.00 and Bordeaux for Mac and OpenSolaris will cost only $12.50 during this sale.

This sale will last for only one month, starting on Friday July 16th 2010 and ending on Friday August 20th 2010. So, If you have ever wanted to try Wine or Bordeaux and have put off your purchase in the past this is the perfect time to try Bordeaux and save 50% off the normal selling price.

Supported Applications/Games:

  • Microsoft Office 2007
  • Microsoft Office 2003
  • Microsoft Office 2000
  • Microsoft Office 97
  • Microsoft Office Visio 2003
  • Microsoft Office Project 2003
  • Adobe Photoshop 6
  • Adobe Image Ready 3
  • Adobe Photoshop 7
  • Adobe Image Ready 7
  • Adobe Photoshop CS
  • Adobe Photoshop CS2
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 7
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 6
  • Steam and Steam based Games
  • Apple QuickTime 6.5.2 Player
  • IrfaView 4.25 (Image files only)
  • Winetricks support
Bordeaux 2.0.6 will be our next release and will have a large number of new features and bug fixes over our previouse release.

Anyone who purchases Bordeaux during this sale can freely upgrade to our next release and any further updates for the next six months.

New Features Planned for Bordeaux 2.0.6
  • Sync to Wine 1.2.0
  • Sync to the latest WineTricks Release
  • Install the IrfanView Plug ins during the IrfanView Install
  • Improved Internet Explorer 7 support
  • Add Support for Firefox 3.6.3 and mulitmedia plugins
  • Add Support for VLC 1.1.0 (this is mostly for BSD and OpenSolaris users)
  • Add Support for Google SketchUp 7.1 (NVIDIA Video Card Recommended)
  • Many fixes for Steam
  • More fixes to the Bordeaux UI and Cellar Manager
Update : 07/19/20110

We will also be adding Pulse Audio support. :)
Bordeaux for Linux 2.0.6 with all the above changes will be released later this week. So get it while you can for only $10.00

Update : 07/20/20110

Screenshot of Pulse Audio working in Linux with Bordeaux!

FreeBSD, PCBSD and Mac builds will be released after the Linux release.

About BordeauxGroup, Inc.:
Founded in 2008, The Bordeaux Group focuses on the development of Free Software solutions enabling legacy Windows applications to run on Unix systems and other non-Windows operating systems. Bordeaux is designed to aide in the transition and migration to non-Windows platforms by bringing Windows software to Linux, Mac, FreeBSD, PCBSD and OpenSolaris. The company is privately held. For more information about the Bordeaux Group please visit http://www.bordeauxgroup.com

Bordeaux for Linux is a trademark of the Bordeaux Group, Incorporated. Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds. Windows is a registered trademark, and Office is a trademark, of Microsoft Corporation in the United States and other countries. Photoshop is a trademark of Adobe in the United States and/or other countries. All other trademarks and registered trademarks are owned by their respective companies.



Bordeaux 2.0.6 for FreeBSD and PC-BSD Released

The Bordeaux Technology Group released Bordeaux 2.0.6 for FreeBSD and PC-BSD today. Bordeaux 2.0.6 is a maintenance release that fixes a number of small bugs and includes many new features. With this release we have bundled Wine 1.2, Updated to the latest winetricks release, Updated to the latest DIB Engine patch, Added support for IrfanView 4.27, Install the IrfanView Plug ins during the IrfanView Install, Improved Internet Explorer 7 support, Added Support for FireFox 3.6.3 and multimedia plug ins, Added Support for VLC 1.1.0, Added Support for Google SketchUp 7.1 (NVIDIA Video Card Recommended), Added many fixes for Steam, More fixes to the Bordeaux UI and Cellar Manager.

Bordeaux 2.0.6 was built on FreeBSD 8, PC-BSD 8 and PC-BSD 7.1 We provide a .sh installer for FreeBSD and .pbi installers for PC-BSD.

Depending on sales, we plan to add Pulse Audio to the next BSD release. So if you would like to have Pulse Audio in Wine on FreeBSD and PC-BSD make a purchase. Help spread the word!

We bundle our own Wine build and many tools and libraries that Wine depends upon. With this release we bundle Wine 1.2, Cabextract, DIB Engine, Mozilla Gecko, Unzip, Wget and other support libraries and tools.

The cost of Bordeaux 2.0.6 is $20.00. Anyone who has purchased Bordeaux in the past six months is entitled to a free upgrade. Bordeaux comes with six months of upgrades and support and of course a 30-day money back guarantee. For a limited time Bordeaux will be on Sale for only $10.00, If your interested in any of the features or supported applications Bordeaux 2.0.6 has "This is the time purchase Bordeaux" while its on sale at 50% off.

Supported Applications/Games:

  • Microsoft Office 2007
  • Microsoft Office 2003
  • Microsoft Office 2000
  • Microsoft Office 97
  • Microsoft Office Visio 2003
  • Microsoft Office Project 2003
  • Adobe Photoshop 6
  • Adobe Image Ready 3
  • Adobe Photoshop 7
  • Adobe Image Ready 7
  • Adobe Photoshop CS
  • Adobe Photoshop CS2
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 7
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 6
  • FireFox 3.6.3 and multimedia plug ins
  • Steam and Steam based Games
  • Google SketchUp 7.1
  • VLC 1.1.0
  • Apple QuickTime 6.5.2 Player
  • IrfanView 4.27 (Image files only)
  • Winetricks support

About Bordeaux:

The Bordeaux Technology Group is a software services and development company specializing in Windows compatibility software. Users of Linux, BSD, OpenSolaris and Mac systems from time to time find themselves in the need to run specialized Windows software. The Bordeaux suite enables access to these programs and data in a seamless and low cost manner without requiring licensing of Microsoft Technology. The Bordeaux Group also provides migration services and support for alternative operating systems specializing in Windows compatibility.

There is a multitude of software developed only for the Windows operating system and even when software vendors port their applications to another platform, generally it lacks features that the Windows version contains. The only solution these developers face is to have access to both systems for testing which leads to increased infrastructure demands, and wasted project resources. If you are vendor interested in supporting your application on Linux, BSD, Solaris or Mac OS X or a software user that needs to run a Windows application on Linux, BSD, OpenSolaris or Mac OS X we can help.

Version 2.0.6 New Features:

  • Bundle Wine 1.2
  • Added many fixes for Steam
  • Added support for IrfanView 4.27
  • Added Support for VLC 1.1.0
  • Add Support for Google SketchUp 7.1 (NVIDIA Video Card Recommended)
  • Added Support for FireFox 3.6.3 and multimedia plug ins
  • Install the IrfanView Plug ins during the IrfanView Install
  • Improved Internet Explorer 7 support
  • More fixes to the Bordeaux UI and Cellar Manager
  • Updated to the latest DIB Engine patch
  • Updated to the latest winetricks release