Monday, May 31, 2010

wisotool 20100530 has been released

Dan Kegel today released wisotool 20100530.

wisotool is a handy winetricks-like script for automatically installing games from .iso or .mds files copied from your own dvds (or, if the game is freely downloadable, it will download it). Just like winetricks, it is intended to make testing Wine easier, but might be useful for people who simply want to install games. Unlike winetricks, wisotool is quiet by default; it doesnt ask any questions (except, for now, it prompts for the root password so it can mount the .iso file; later it will use fuse instead).

Wisotool currently supports 60 games and/or benchmarks (see list below). Please consider contributing support for your favorite game, its not (too) hard. Im especially interested in recent or beta games; ideally wisotool would support (worthwhile) games on the day they are released.

Changelog :

Austin English :

  • Added new verb half_life_goty (Half Life: Game of the Year edition)
  • Add draft verb codmw2 (Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2)
  • Add initial support for mounting .mds (Alchol 120%) images, use it for Bioshock
  • Remove helper macros from Morrowind, use button names instead of text to internationalize
  • Use download() to get winetricks if it's missing

Dan Kegel :
  • Added new verb lswcs (Lego Star Wars Complete Saga)
  • Added draft verbs orangebox, pro cycling mgr 08 demo
  • Cleanups on many verbs
  • Add env var to make it easier to point to a read-only .wisotool.
  • Relax read-only check for .wisotool.
  • Improve download error handling
  • Fix three little problems related to unmounting
  • Add error checking to abort if someone puts an apostrophe in a description
  • Moved hand-written postinstall scripts out of cache
  • Start adding uniform way to start apps (c:\run-VERB.bat)

Eleazar Galano :
  • Added new verbs
  • hon (Heroes of Newearth), masseffect2, popsot_demo (Prince of Persia Sands of Time Demo),
  • splitsecond, splitsecond_demo, sto (Star Trek Online), wowbc (World of Warcraft Battle Chest)
  • Added draft verb bfbc2 (Battlefield Bad Company 2)

Vincent Pelletier :
  • Add support for 40 GOG.com games (!):
  • ebes_exoddus_gog (Abes Exoddus)
  • abes_oddysee_gog (Abes Oddysee)
  • battle_chess_gog (Battle Chess)
  • beyond_good_and_evil_gog (Beyond Good and Evil)
  • descent_1_2_gog (Descent and Descent 2)
  • descent_3_gog (Descent 3)
  • dukenukem3d_gog (Duke Nukem 3D)
  • dukenukemmp_gog (Duke Nukem Manhattan Project)
  • earth_2150_trilogy_gog (Earth 2150 trilogy)
  • earth_2160_gog (Earth 2160)
  • earthworm_jim_1_2_gog (Earthworm Jim 1 & 2)
  • earthworm_jim_3d_gog (Earthworm Jim 3D)
  • empire_earth_gold_gog (Empire Earth Gold)
  • evil_genius_gog (Evil Genius)
  • fallout_2_gog (Fallout 2)
  • fallout_gog (Fallout)
  • fallout_tactics_gog (Fallout Tactics)
  • far_cry_gog (Far Cry)
  • flatout_gog (FlatOut)
  • freespace_2_gog (Freespace 2)
  • freespace_gog (Freespace)
  • ghost_master_gog (Ghost Master)
  • ground_control_2_gog (Ground Control 2)
  • mdk2_gog (MDK 2)
  • mdk_gog (MDK)
  • neighbours_from_hell_
  • compilation_gog (Neighbours From Hell 1 & 2)
  • operation_flashpoint_goty_gog (Operation Flashpoint GOTY)
  • painkiller_black_gog (Painkiller Black)
  • perimeter_gog (Perimeter)
  • praetorians_gog (Praetorians)
  • psychonauts_gog (Psychonauts)
  • redneck_rampage_gog (Redneck Rampage)
  • robinson_requiem_collection_gog (Robinson Requiem & Deus)
  • settlers_2_gold_gog (The Settlers 2 Gold)
  • shogo_gog (Shogo Mobile Armor Division)
  • tex_murphy_1_and_2_gog (Tex Murphy 1 & 2)
  • unreal_2_se_gog (Unreal 2: The awakening Special Edition)
  • unreal_gold_gog (Unreal Gold Edition)
  • ut2004_gog (Unreal Tournament 2004)
  • ut_goty_gog (Unreal Tournament GOTY)

Here is its current help text:

Script to install games automatically.
Usage: wisotool [options] package [package] ...

Options:
-q quieter
-v verbose
-V display Version
Packages:
3dmark03 3D Mark 03 (Futuremark, 2003) [download]
3dmark05 3D Mark 05 (Futuremark, 2005) [download]
3dmark06 3D Mark 06 (Futuremark, 2006) [download]
3dmark2000 3DMark2000 (MadOnion.com, 2000) [download]
3dmark2001 3DMark2001 (MadOnion.com, 2001) [download]
abes_exoddus_gog Abes Exoddus (GOG.com)
abes_oddysee_gog Abes Oddysee (GOG.com)
assassinscreed Assassins Creed (Ubisoft, 2008)
baldursgate2 Baldurs Gate 2 - Shadows of Amn (Bioware, 2000)
battle_chess_gog Battle Chess (GOG.com)
beyond_good_and_evil_gog Beyond Good and Evil (GOG.com)
bfbc2 Battlefield Bad Company 2 (EA, 2010)
bioshock Bioshock (2K Games, 2007)
codmw2 Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (Activision, 2009) [broken]
descent_1_2_gog Descent and Descent 2 (GOG.com)
descent_3_gog Descent 3 (GOG.com)
dragonage Dragon Age: Origins (Bioware, 2009)
dukenukem3d_gog Duke Nukem 3D (GOG.com)
dukenukemmp_gog Duke Nukem Manhattan Project (GOG.com)
earth_2150_trilogy_gog Earth 2150 trilogy (GOG.com)
earth_2160_gog Earth 2160 (GOG.com)
earthworm_jim_1_2_gog Earthworm Jim 1 & 2 (GOG.com)
earthworm_jim_3d_gog Earthworm Jim 3D (GOG.com)
empire_earth_gold_gog Empire Earth Gold (GOG.com)
evil_genius_gog Evil Genius (GOG.com)
fallout_2_gog Fallout 2 (GOG.com)
fallout_gog Fallout (GOG.com)
fallout_tactics_gog Fallout Tactics (GOG.com)
far_cry_gog Far Cry (GOG.com)
flatout_gog FlatOut (GOG.com)
freespace_2_gog Freespace 2 (GOG.com)
freespace_gog Freespace (GOG.com)
ghost_master_gog Ghost Master (GOG.com)
ground_control_2_gog Ground Control 2 (GOG.com)
gta_vc Grand Theft Auto: Vice City (Rockstar, 2003)
half_life_goty Half Life: Game of the Year Edition (Sierra, 2000)
help How to use this tool
hon Heroes of Newerth (S2 Games, 2010) [download]
lswcs Lego Star Wars Complete Saga (Lucasarts, 2009)
manhole The Manhole Masterpiece Edition (Cyan, 1994)
masseffect2 Mass Effect 2 (BioWare, 2010)
mdk2_gog MDK 2 (GOG.com)
mdk_gog MDK (GOG.com)
morrowind The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind (Bethesda, 2002)
neighbours_from_hell_compilation_gog Neighbours From Hell 1 & 2 (GOG.com)
operation_flashpoint_goty_gog Operation Flashpoint GOTY (GOG.com)
orangebox Orange Box (Valve, 2007)
painkiller_black_gog Painkiller Black (GOG.com)
pcmark04 PC Mark 04 (Futuremark, 2004) [download]
pcmark05 PC Mark 05 (Futuremark, 2005) [download]
perimeter_gog Perimeter (GOG.com)
plantsvszombies Plants vs. Zombies (PopCap Games, 2009) [download]
popsot_demo Prince of Persia Sands of Time Demo (Ubisoft, 2003)
praetorians_gog Praetorians (GOG.com)
procycling08_demo Pro Cycling Manager 2008 Demo (Cyanide, 2008) [download, broken in wine]
procycling09_nda Pro Cycling Manager 2009 (Cyanide, 2009)
psychonauts_gog Psychonauts (GOG.com)
quake3 Quake 3 (ID Software, 1999)
re5bench Resident Evil 5 Benchmark (Capcom, 2009) [download]
redneck_rampage_gog Redneck Rampage (GOG.com)
robinson_requiem_collection_gog Robinson Requiem & Deus (GOG.com)
settlers_2_gold_gog The Settlers 2 Gold (GOG.com)
shogo_gog Shogo Mobile Armor Division (GOG.com)
sims3 The Sims 3 (EA, 2009)
splitsecond Split Second (Black Rock Studios, 2010) [wine bug 22865]
splitsecond_demo Split Second Demo (Black Rock Studios, 2010) [wine bug 22865]
starcraft Starcraft Battle Chest (Blizzard, 1998)
starcraft2 Starcraft II beta (Blizzard, 2010)
stfu Starwars: The Force Unleashed (Aspyr, 2009)
sto Star Trek Online (Cryptic, 2010)
tex_murphy_1_and_2_gog Tex Murphy 1 & 2 (GOG.com)
unigine_heaven Unigen Heaven 2 Benchmark (Unigen, 2010) [download]
unreal_2_se_gog Unreal 2: The awakening Special Edition (GOG.com)
unreal_gold_gog Unreal Gold Edition (GOG.com)
ut2004_gog Unreal Tournament 2004 (GOG.com)
ut_goty_gog Unreal Tournament GOTY (GOG.com)
wog World of Goo demo (2D Boy, 2008) [download]
wowbc World of Warcraft: Battle Chest (Blizzard, 2008)
Pseudopackages:
load Load a disc into the iso cache
load=KEY Load a disc with given key; only works from commandline at moment
------------------------------------------------------
If the game is not marked with {download} or {loaded} in the menu,
you have to insert its disc and give the 'load' command before you can
choose that game in the menu. If the game has multiple discs, you have
to do this for each disc.
------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------
If the game has an install key, you have to enter that when loading the
first disc. (You have to do that from the commandline, e.g. sh wisotool
load=XXXX-YYYY-ZZZZ.)
------------------------------------------------------

Wisotool is available at
http://kegel.com/wine/wisotool
You can read more about it at
http://wiki.winehq.org/wisotool
Please report bugs via
http://code.google.com/p/winezeug/issues/

Original link



Friday, May 28, 2010

Wine 1.2-rc2 Released

The Wine development release 1.2-rc2 is now available.

There are no new features in this release, only bug fixes, since we are in code freeze. If you find a new feature thats a bug.

The source is available now. Binary packages are in the process of being built, and will appear soon at their respective download locations.

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

Bordeaux on PC-BSD Screenshot tour

This is a Bordeaux on PC-BSD 8 Screenshot tour. This tour will show you how easy it is to install Bordeaux on PC-BSD and start installing Windows Applications and Games. Bordeaux has a single dependency on Zenity once Zenity is installed Bordeaux will install and run on your PC-BSD system.

After your purchase of Bordeaux download the installer to your Desktop or Downloads directory. Then install Zenity from the ports collection. Once this is done the install process is ready to begin.

This Screenshot tour is of the upcoming Bordeaux 2.0.6 release. In this release we will start installing the IrfanView Plugins by default. Irfanview has also been upgraded from the 4.25 release to the newest 4.27 release. 2.0.6 will also come with a new Wine release and the newest winetricks and DIB engine releases. Their will also be many more fixes in the forthcoming release then the ones listed here. So if you would like to help support the next release please consider purchasing Bordeaux for Linux, Mac OS X, FreeBSD, PC-BSD or OpenSolaris.

Bordeaux downloaded to my Downloads directory.
Right click on the Bordeaux .pbi installer and launch it with the PBI Launcher.
The PBI Launcher will ask for your password at this stage.
Enter your password and the Install will begin.
Follow the steps to install Bordeaux.

Bordeaux is now installed on PC-BSD 8!
Bordeaux will now be listed in your installed software.
Double click the Bordeaux Desktop icon to start Bordeaux.
Select a app then select "Install" and then wait for the install to begin. Bordeaux might need to download fonts and other libs so be patient while this takes place.
Bordeaux will download the Irfanview 4.27 installer and start the install automatically for you.
Follow the Irfanview installer instructions and proceed with the install.
Dont install the Google Toolbar.
Select the Irfanview folder for the Irfanview INI file.
Select Yes and procced with the install.
Irfanview 4.27 is now installed on PC-BSD
After the install is complete Irfanview will open your default browser and take you to their FAQ. You can bookmark the FAQ at this time or close the page.
After you close or minimize your browser the Irfanview plugins install will start. Give this stage a couple minutes depending on your internet speed... Once the plugins installer is downloaded it will begin.
The Irfanview plugins are now installed.
The install is now complete, and at this stage Bordeaux will clean up the .lnk files on your desktop. Select OK to close the progress dialog and then exit Bordeaux.
Double click the Irfanviw Desktop icon to start Irfanviw. The Warning below is normal, select Continue and Irfanview should start up.
You can now start using Irfanview. :)
About Irfanview and a image of a local Volcano.
Bordeaux will also be added to your Applications Menu.

Here is the link to the Bordeaux on Mac 10.6 Screenshot tour.

Bordeaux also runs on Linux, Mac OS X, FreeBSD, PC-BSD and OpenSolaris. The cost of Bordeaux at this time is only $25.00 for Mac and OpenSolaris and $20.00 for Linux and BSD.

Monday, May 24, 2010

Moving from Windows 7 to Mac OS Snow Leopard

I was in the market for a new Laptop, given that mine is at least 3 years old and starting to show its age with non-working USB ports, one blown power supply, and failing batteries. My requirements are slightly above the average:

Any laptop must be able to run the following at the same time within a hosted virtualization solution such as VMware Workstation or Fusion.

  • VMware vSphere ESX 4
  • VMware vSphere ESX 4i
  • VMware vCenter Server on Windows 2008
  • Virtual Storage Appliance (I use OpenFiler at the moment)
  • Firewall
  • Development Environment for my security script

Now I have all this running on my older Duo Core laptop within 8GBs of memory and multiple USB disks and let me tell you, it runs SLOWLY but it will run. I was in the market for something much faster and perhaps with more memory.

So I was in essence looking at a 16GB i7 laptop, but I settled for an 8GB i7 laptop with a 512GB SSD that “Just Works.” I was all set to plunk down cash on a Windows 7 based laptop when I went on the Gestalt IT Tech Field Day and found out that my camera would not stream video and required me to reboot several times in the midst of the briefings. This was just too many reboots during a critical time. I do not believe that ‘fixing’ a problem should require a reboot. A reboot just covers up the problems. My First attempt at a fix was to purchase a Microsoft HD Life Camera, but the video quality was worse than my Logitech HD camera all in all not very satisfactory.

I really agonized over this decision, I had to make sure my applications were all available on the Mac. Most if not all were, and after talking to my friend who was a long-time Mac owner, I switched back to a Mac (actually my first every computer purchase was a Mac IIsi followed soon by the MacBook Duo and up until last year I owned a Mac G4). I knew my VMs would run within 8GBs as they already did, so extra memory was not a huge issue. The big issue was to invest in SSD over standard drives. Now that was a great decision. So soon I was the proud owner of a 15″ MackBook Pro i7 with 8GBs of RAM and a 512GB SSD.

Now what did I install on this MacBook Pro?

Paid Applications:

  • VMware Fusion 3.0 which now runs in Unity mode my two applications I already owned for Microsoft Windows and use quite often: Visio 2007 and QuickBooks 2010.
  • Codeweavers CrossOver Office (in which I could run Visio 2007 but choose not to do so). I do run IE6 within CrossOver office however, only way to talk to my very old Tape Library.
  • Codeweavers CrossOver Games (still need to install those games but that should not be difficult seeing as I have already done this for Linux.)
  • Microsoft Office Mac (I already owned a copy)
  • Final Cut Express (Pre-installed)
  • Belkin F5L009 – (USB over Ethernet) to access my Printer
  • Livescribe Desktop – I already owned the Pulse Smart Pen
  • FlipShare – I need access to my Flip Videos
  • Little Snitch – An application based port filtering firewall as I really wanted to know what was going on. Thanks to Scott Lowe for pointing me to this little gem.
  • Trillian – I own an professional account on this service for all my IM Needs
  • Emailchemy – I had to switch my mail from Outlook to my Mac mail application, first I tried Entourage but that was a bust so I now use the Mac Mail.app even with its quirks
  • Transmit – So I can upload those book files easier (I have not paid for this yet, I may switch to Cyberduck, but I still need to test with the file server.)

Now for the Free Applications

  • Skype – gotta keep in touch. I actually can use the Windows Beta with multiple video streams inside Fusion but it has a few issues with echos
  • Remote Desktop Connection – Still the best way to reach Windows boxes necessary for VMware management
  • FireFox – I prefer this to Safari and Chrome actually, but use all to test websites.
  • SnagIt Beta – I use SnagIt on Windows and wish to continue to use SnagIt on Mac to capture images. It is what I know and has a powerful image editor.
  • Tweetie – for all those tweets. I tried twhirl but my friend said it drains battery being an Air App
  • DropBox – For File sharing
  • Chicken of the VNC – So that I can access all those Linux desktops not using XRDP
  • Tunnelblick – For my OpenVPN connection
  • Xcode and X11 – I do develop code so why not!
  • Adobe Air – while it does drain battery, I have need for this for an upcoming product from a friend of mine for whom I do some beta work
  • Windows Media Components for QuickTime – Gotta view those WMVs everyone posts.

Now for the Extras as in Hardware

  • Speck Clear Hard Case (While at EMC World I noticed quite a few of these on MacBooks and I liked the look and feel of the case. The MBP needs a little extra protection).
  • 85w MagSafe Power Supply (I picked up a second one so I could have one for travel.)
  • USB to PS/2 connector (My laptop hooks to my PS/2 KVMs and the second one I bought works on Linux but not the MBP. The one I bought YEARS ago for the Mac G4 works great with the MBP.)
  • Griffen iMic (I have a very good wand Mic that is best for using Skype, etc. as it is unidirectional and it is not amplified so need a tool that would do that for me.)
There you go. Now I have a laptop that “Just Works”, boots quickly, and plays all my music with no major issues.

Full Article

Saturday, May 22, 2010

Macworld 2010 - CrossOver Mac

Jack Phinney from CodeWeavers demonstrates CrossOver Mac, which allows Mac users to run Windows apps (such as Internet Explorer or Microsoft Outlook) without having to install Windows.




Full Article

Friday, May 21, 2010

Wine 1.2-rc1 Released

The Wine development release 1.2-rc1 is now available.

This is the first release candidate for Wine 1.2. It marks the beginning of the code freeze period. Please give this release a good testing to help us make 1.2 as good as possible.

Whats new in this release:

  • Many new toolbar icons.
  • Support for alpha blending in image lists.
  • Much more complete shader assembler.
  • Support for Arabic font shaping and joining.
  • A number of fixes for video rendering.
  • Font antialiasing configuration through fontconfig.
  • Improved handling of desktop link files.
  • Various bug fixes.

The source is available now. Binary packages are in the process of being built, and will appear soon at their respective download locations.

Bugs fixed in 1.2-rc1:

4654 ebasePro 2.12 doesn't start properly--missing plugin
4805 Direct music loader release
5616 Wanted: testing framework for bundled Winelib programs
6341 WEB.DE Messenger crashes
6533 Type mismatch 13 Error shows up in a VB-App.
7594 Wine window scrolling is broken
7797 Knight Rider runs extremely slowly
7950 DirectX strange render window cutoff in Candytron both Party and Final version
8287 Custom toolbar skin makes Irfan View 4.00 crash at start up
9263 Guild Wars terribly slow
9958 OleLoadPicturePath() should initialize COM apartment on its own if not previously done.
10583 Fonts: Subpixel hinting, No RGB or BGR
11892 GdipCreateBitmapFromFile & GdipCreateBitmapFromStream give upside down bitmap
11896 Civilization4.exe crashes because of unimplemented functions in msvcp71
12590 Yahoo widget engine 4.5, blank box, not being able to do anything
12869 Rollcage Stage II demo crashes
13278 Qtracker crashes
13579 Adobe Acrobat Standard 7 -- using menus on first startup causes X to freeze
14079 Dungeon Siege installation impossible
14195 EINTR in WS_select
14262 Wordview bullet in doc is not the same
14710 OleLoadPicturePath loads image in windows but not in wine, could cause access violation in some circumstances
14861 SetDIBits crashes with overlapping src/dst rectangles on the same bitmap
14891 Bitmaps with offset bits do not display correctly
15329 Unable to install Sony Picture Utility, Failed to load DLL Localesetting
15928 EasyPlot doesn't work
15969 Unsigned v1.2.1.93 installer crashes near the end of installation on first run
16602 Citrix ICA16 Client installer crashes after extraction
17058 Crayon Physics Deluxe - fullscreen doesn't work properly
17113 Electronic dictionary application
17166 Implement BiDi mirroring
17712 Installshield doesn't like spaces in uninstall shortcuts
17811 T-Online Browser: Bitmaps invisible (GdipCloneBitmapAreaI is a stub)
17860 Microsoft Office 2007 crashes on specific powerpoint file in gdi32/enhmetafile
18059 Unity Indie Trial exits because attrib.exe is missing
18291 Quicktime uninstaller shortcut fails
18625 Everest Poker startup text slightly off-centre
18757 Album software Foto de Klijne crashes on startup
18982 Word 2007 tab stop selection is invisible
18993 Shadows and selection circles z-fight in World of Warcraft
19234 Emperor fails to change resolution or be fullscreen
19848 Arma 2: Crash on startup
19877 Zeta Minibrowser crashes (because of stubbed CreateHardLinkW)
20204 enhanced metafile retrieval fails and crashes clipboard test
20210 Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 Expansions: Crashes to desktop while loading.
20533 Random black artifacts while playing The Settlers - 10th Anniversary - Demo
20676 winedbg minidumps can not be loaded by WinDbg
21287 Miranda appearance is broken in many ways
21376 The Bat! - Access Violations on attachement view
21443 CryptSignHash() fails when CryptCreateHash() ALG_ID is set to CALG_SSL3_SHAMD5
21829 Kurso3 hangs in the end of install
21978 Gestan does not install
22114 Supreme Commander 2: User interfaces flickers and some UI elements are missing
22140 Unexpected bold font in CDBurnerXP Pro 3
22162 Knights of the Old Republic: Cursor Doesn't Show
22211 HTML-Kit Tools trial exits silently while displaying its splash screen
22252 Rhiannon installer hangs: possibly caused by a regression
22272 CDBurnerXP crashes if a data disc is inserted
22284 Osmos: mouse pointer disappears in the menus
22290 PlayOnline viewer can't be resized in windowed mode
22334 Hearts of Iron III - missing texture on initial window
22353 Application written in VB6 crashes when setting the .colwidth property of a msflexgrid
22356 Jedi Knight: Dark Forces II - weapons flicker
22435 Wine un-highlights selected text when right button is clicked
22443 AutoCAD 2008: Icons have pinky background in "filter applied" drop down menu
22444 AutoCAD 2008: No icons in drop down menu
22453 Office 2007 text is not visibily highlighted
22455 Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic does not start
22457 Disabled toolbar icons are black
22463 mouse cursor display broken
22535 King's Bounty Armored Princess graphics glitches
22543 winedbg crashes on startup in combination with crysis
22601 .NET Framework 2.0 installer displays crash dialog, fails with "function failed" error message
22624 multithread app using GDI and directx may cause deadlock
22625 No card selector available for GL vendor 3 and card vendor 8086
22632 Blitzkrieg game crashes when using 'Save' option
22646 Modern Warfare 2: Fog and smoke rendered incorrectly
22650 Time of Defiance login attempt results in WSAIoctl unsupported WS_IOCTL cmd (9800000c)
22653 Serif WebPlus X2 does not install
22657 3DMark 2001se - Car Chase - High Detail shows black screen
22666 wine64: does not create a proper WINEPREFIX when -O0 is used, breaks winetest
22676 Total Commander icons do not appear in the task bar
22694 Spiceworks crashes during install
22699 Swapchain_blit enhancement introduces y-axis inversion
22704 Dungeon Keeper 2 shows X-cursor
22709 crypt32 doesn't support wildcard certificates with alternate name extension
22717 duplicate symbols in ldt.c ... bad inline asm
22735 Resize of PlayOnline viewer's window makes it's content upside down
22746 CDBurnerXP 3.0.x uses a wrong/invisible cursor on its mode selection screen
22750 ControlSpy message parameters listboxes don't have frames
22755 Installer program of "de rouck" freezes
22758 MS Office 2007: riched20 assertion failure in CDKey registration screen
22792 VLC Media Player crashes on first run



Thursday, May 20, 2010

Bordeaux 2.0.4 on Mac Screenshot tour

This is a Bordeaux on Mac 10.6 Screenshot tour. This tour will show you how easy it is to install Bordeaux on your Mac and start installing Windows Applications and Games. Bordeaux has a single dependency on GTK-Framework once the GTK-Framework is installed Bordeaux will install and run on your Mac.

After your purchase of Bordeaux download the installer to your desktop. Then download the GTK-Framework to your desktop. Once this is done the install process is ready to begin.

Double click the GTK-Framework package to begin the install.

After you complete the GTK-Framework install you can now Install Bordeaux.

After the install is complete Bordeaux will be listed in your Application Menu.

Select the Bordeaux Application Installer to start Bordeaux. You can also configure Wine and install un-supported apps with the tools we provide.

Bordeaux GUI on Apple Mac 10.6

Select your application of choice, and the installation will begin.



Bordeaux also runs on Linux, FreeBSD, PC-BSD and OpenSolaris. The cost of Bordeaux at this time is only $25.00 for Mac and OpenSolaris and $20.00 for Linux and BSD.

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Review Codeweavers Crossover Mac 9.0

When you absolutely must run a Windows application on your Mac, you've got three options. Boot Camp will get you up and running with a proper full Windows installation, supplying all the raw power your hardware can muster and giving your programs 100% compatibility, at least in theory. This is Windows were talking about, after all.

Next comes virtualisation – using applications such as Parallels Desktop and VMWare Fusion – which enables you to run your Windows installation on top of OS X, sacrificing a little grunt for the convenience of running everything in one bordered desktop.

And then theres Crossover. Its basically a Mac port of Linuxs Wine, a compatibility layer for Windows apps; its so close, in fact, that it maintains Wine's terminology, employing Bottles to contain virtual system settings and instructions pertaining to your individual installed apps.

Unlike the other two options, Crossover doesnt need a full copy of Windows or the expensive licence that goes with it. It employs intricate emulators of all of Windows key functions to run apps completely independently of Microsofts operating system.

Still a way to go

Crossover has had its detractors over the years, and for good reason; here we are at version 9, and its only just catching up with some of the more major Windows applications on the market.

Theres a huge list of programs – 700 or so – that CodeWeavers rates as Gold, and even this designation merely signifies that the application mostly runs as expected. This number does cover many of the applications that make it most useful.

Internet Explorer is there, for instance, which makes testing web designs with the worlds most popular browser relatively straightforward. Legacy versions of Media Player are also supported, which is a cheeky way of playing WMV video.


Windows Media Player works well enough in Crossover.

Full Article

Friday, May 14, 2010

CXGames 9.0 A Hands on Review

Back on October of last year I did a comparison of Cedega and CXGames. As of yesterday Codeweavers launched their CXGames 9.0. If we had heard any news or updates from Cedega in the last five months this would be an updated comparison, but since Cedega has not changed I simply am going to be reviewing the newly released CXGames.

The first thing you will notice when using CXGames 9.0 if you had used past versions is that the GUI has under gone a refreshing change.

Application Installer:

Bottle Manager:One of the key things you will notice when installing a game is that there are now "profiles" built in for games. Officially supported games have a profile as well currently a handful of other games. Similar to how Cedega works people can now submit the Wine settings they use to successfully run a game to Codeweavers so others can replicate these settings with a single click from the installer. With the number of users Codeweavers has accumulated over the years I have no doubt that we will soon see profiles for the multitude of gold and silver rated unsupported applications listed in the Codeweaver's data base.

Link to Full Review

Thursday, May 13, 2010

CodeWeavers Launches CrossOver Games 9.0 for Linux and Mac

SAINT PAUL, Minn. (May 12, 2010) – Despite the massive distraction of this weekend's theatrical release of Iron Man 2, CodeWeavers, Inc., a leading developer of software products that turn Mac OS X and Linux into Windows-compatible operating systems, today announces it has completed the development of CrossOver Games 9.0 for both Mac and Linux.

CrossOver Games allows Windows games to be used on Mac and Linux PCs without the need for a Windows operating system license.

Available beginning today for download at www.codeweavers.com, CrossOver Games 9.0:

  • supports the new Steam UI; and,

  • StarCraft 2 (beta) and StarTrek Online; and

  • enables users to install games from a single screen and a single click on CodeWeavers' compatibility center.

Historically, CodeWeavers programmers complete a software upgrade with a straight 96-hour burn fueled by Red Bull, Twizzlers and vending machine pretzels. The release of CrossOver Games 9.0 marks the first time CodeWeavers launched a new version of its software amidst the release of a blockbuster summer film, which typically grinds production to a halt as CodeWeavers programmers camp outside the theater for three days to secure the best seats on opening night.

"It's corporate policy that we schedule our software releases during weak spots in the movie calendar. Early Fall. Late Winter. Like, when a Meryl Streep film comes out," said Jeremy White, CodeWeavers chief executive officer. "What can I say? I screwed up. I got confused. I forgot about Iron Man 2.

"Hence the anomaly for this week's release of CrossOver Games 9.0, which also enables gamers to download installation 'recipes' directly from the CodeWeavers online Compatibility Database, located at C4.codeweavers.com," White added. "If another CrossOver Games user figures out how to use CrossOver to install a Windows-compatible game, he can upload this installation recipe to our database. For gamers using windows, that means they can switch to Mac or Linux without much worry.

"Our programmers were enraged at the scheduling conflict, though many snuck out late Friday afternoon to catch – spoiler alert here – Iron Man take down Whiplash," White said.

To ensure programmers continued working Saturday and Sunday without break, White created a makeshift "electric whip" to emulate Mickey Rourke's character's weapon of choice.

"Essentially, it was 48 strands of 28-inch stripped coax cables sewn into the fingers of an Ace Hardware work glove," White said. "I walked around cubes in our office screaming 'full Steam ahead, minions!' in a mediocre Russian accent while swinging the whip. It worked, more or less."

"At around 9 a.m. Sunday morning while quietly writing code at my desk, White's whip snagged me just below the groin on my left leg," said Jon Parshall, chief operating officer at CodeWeavers.

"Ugh. Fourteen stitches plus the pitiful sight of a grown man writhing on the floor in his own pool of blood," White said. "Hopefully sales of CrossOver Games 9.0 will help pay his medical bills."

CrossOver Games 9.0 is download-only and can be purchased for $39.95 at www.codeweavers.com.

About CodeWeavers

Founded in 1996 as a general software consultancy, CodeWeavers focuses on the development of Wine – the core technology found in all of its CrossOver products. The company's goal is to bring expanded market opportunities for Windows software developers by making it easier, faster and more painless to port Windows software to Linux. CodeWeavers is recognized as a leader in open-source Windows porting technology, and maintains development offices in Minnesota, the United Kingdom and elsewhere around the world. The company is privately held. For more information about CodeWeavers, log on to www.codeweavers.com.

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Bordeaux 2.0.4 for Linux Released

The Bordeaux Technology Group released Bordeaux 2.0.4 for Linux today. Bordeaux 2.0.4 is a maintenance release that fixes a number of small bugs. With this release we have changed the Bordeux UI from a GTKDialog to a GTKWindow, the "OK" button has also been re-named to "Install". We have upgraded our Wine bundle from 1.1.36 to 1.1.41, updated to the latest winetricks release, added support for the new Steam UI, and changed the progress bar back to Zenity.

The Bordeaux UI changes come from our working agreement with StormOS.

With version 2.0.0 and onward we bundle our own Wine build and many tools and libraries that Wine depends upon. With this release we bundle Wine 1.1.41, Cabextract, Mozilla Gecko, Unzip, Wget and other support libraries and tools.

The cost of Bordeaux 2.0.4 is $20.00. Anyone who has purchased Bordeaux in the past six months is entitled to a free upgrade. Bordeaux comes with six months of upgrades and support and of course a 30-day money back guarantee.

Supported Applications/Games:
  • Microsoft Office 2007
  • Microsoft Office 2003
  • Microsoft Office 2000
  • Microsoft Office 97
  • Microsoft Office Visio 2003
  • Microsoft Office Project 2003
  • Adobe Photoshop 6
  • Adobe Image Ready 3
  • Adobe Photoshop 7
  • Adobe Image Ready 7
  • Adobe Photoshop CS
  • Adobe Photoshop CS2
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 7
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 6
  • Steam and Steam based Games
  • Apple QuickTime 6.5.2 Player
  • IrfaView 4.25 (Image files only)
  • Winetricks support
About Bordeaux:

The Bordeaux Technology Group is a software services and development company specializing in Windows compatibility software. Users of Linux, BSD, OpenSolaris and Mac systems from time to time find themselves in the need to run specialized Windows software. The Bordeaux suite enables access to these programs and data in a seamless and low cost manner without requiring licensing of Microsoft Technology. The Bordeaux Group also provides migration services and support for alternative operating systems specializing in Windows compatibility.

There is a multitude of software developed only for the Windows operating system and even when software vendors port their applications to another platform, generally it lacks features that the Windows version contains. The only solution these developers face is to have access to both systems for testing which leads to increased infrastructure demands, and wasted project resources. If you are vendor interested in supporting your application on Linux, BSD, Solaris or Mac OS X or a software user that needs to run a Windows application on Linux, BSD, OpenSolaris or Mac OS X we can help.

Version 2.0.4 New Features:
  • Bundle Wine 1.1.41
  • Support the new Steam UI
  • Many small fixes to the UI
  • Fixes to wine menu builder
  • The Bordeux UI is now a GTKWindow
  • Progress Bar now uses Zenity
  • Updated to the latest Winetricks


Monday, May 10, 2010

Crossover Games

I own an Imac so that means my gaming choices are limited. Since Apple has switched to Intel chips, it is possible for most games to be ported via a wrapper program that mimics a Windows environment. Yes, of course if gaming is that important to a computer user they could use the Bootcamp program and then load in Windows. And I've thought about doing that, and I may still become a bootcamper. However right now, I don't want to drop upwards of $200 for the Windows system.

On Massively, a commentator mentioned that he/she played Lord of the Rings Online via a wrapper program called Crossover Games. That idea intrigued me so I looked into the software. The Crossover suite of programs are offered by CodeWeavers. These programs mimic Windows using a wrapper based on the open source Wine project.

Crossover games is the "official" version of the Wine opensource project. It is affordable at $39.95 (the fee supports the Wine opensource programmers) and the installation is simple. What isn't simple is getting the subsequent windows games to work properly. Since this option is rather arcane no matter how easy Codeweavers has made it, you will probably need to know a little something about programming to get anything working.

To use Crossover Games, the user must create a mini-windows shell called a bottle. You can pick which flavor of windows you want this bottle to mimic (vista, winxp, 98, 2000). A bottle must be created for each game you want to play. Then you can load the games into the bottle via disc or downloads. Theoretically, it should be easy.

However I could get nothing to work with it. The LOTR instructions were easy however the program doesn't recognize the official game install file. I tried to download the free to play Uru Online. The installation progress was successful. However the site registration is no longer available so I can't log in to the program. As a lark I also tried to install Blue Mars. However there was an error that had something to do with the install aware program. I was at wit's end and wondered if I could use the software for anything. Finally I managed to see the program in action with the game Wizard 101(review later). And I can say that Crossover works very well for what it is.

This solution is very ad hoc and is in no way a substitute for Mac Bootcamp. But if you can't afford to spring for the Windows software at the moment, this program will do for the time being. I recommend it.

Why there is a Market for Linux Games

Linux users are starved for quality games - there is no doubting that. Bring up the topic of a Linux port on most gaming forums and you will typically see responses about the market share of the operating system, that Linux users are cheap (thus why they use a free operating system) or there are too many package formats to support (which really is a non-issue). I'm not even going to bother trying to argue the point of market share, we all know Windows is a large majority and Linux is the under dog - lets leave it at that.

Lets stop and think about something for a moment - nowhere near all of those Windows users are gamers. In fact with the world we live in that is so heavily populated with consoles I would be surprised if even half of the people using Windows are the type that go out and purchase the latest and greatest PC games (or even play casually). Linux users on the other hand are typically a more tech savvy bunch and tech savvy people more often than not tend to gravitate towards being gamers.

Alright - enough speculation and assumptions, lets look at some cold hard numbers. Two recent games that had successful Linux ports would be 2DBoy's World of Goo and Frictional Game's enumbra Series. 2DBoy reported that since they released their Linux port of the game 10% of their total game sales have been for the Linux platform. Frictional Games reports a similair statistic - in fact 12% of their sales for the Penumbra series up to this point are for the Linux operating system.

Still need more convincing? If you have not been made aware of it yet as of my posting this there are still two days left to participate in the Humble Indie Bundle experiment. The Humble Indie Bundle offers your five games (including World of Goo and the first of the Penumbra series) at what ever cost you can afford. All five of the games are fully cross-platform (Windows, OSX, Linux) and when you make your donation you are asked to mark which operating system you are purchasing the games for. Take a look at the following statistics up until this point from the donations they have received:


Judging by that pie chart Linux users appear to make up almost 25% of the donations and their average donation amount is almost double that of the average Windows user donation. This means that of the 571,048$ donated thus far 142,762$ is from Linux users. But remember Linux users are cheap and their is no money in Linux game market - right.

Games that already exist on only the Windows platform need ports as well. In fact there is so much demand for some of these games to run on Linux that Codeweavers has a business commercially supporting many of these titles on the Linux operating system (it's not perfect - but for now it works).

Full Article

Wine 1.1.44 vs Vista Benchmarks

Dan Kegel has been running some DirectX and OpenGL benchmarks on Ubuntu + Wine and Windows Vista, Here is the results of Dans recent benchmark test.

Yagmarkdata now has data from five different benchmarks: 3dmark 2000, 2001, 2006 and heaven2_opengl, d3d9, and running on a semi-whimpy e8400 dual core box with an nvidia gt 220 card, on both Vista and Ubuntu+Wine.

First, the good news:
the OpenGL version of the Heaven benchmark achieved 99% of the expected framerate on Wine, not bad, and it looks good, too. The 3dmark* demos look good in general.

And now the bad news:
in general, Wine's D3D version achieves only half to three-quarters the performance of Vista's. The Heaven D3D benchmark doesn't look right in quite a few ways (and one regression is very recent), requires more video ram than on Windows, and hangs at the end. 3dmark2001 has a strange water problem in the nature test at 30 seconds. 3dmark06 lacks shadows in the firefly forest.


Full Benchmark Results here...