Monday, December 28, 2009

Steven Edwards for South Carolina US House District 4

My campaign consists of a simple platform with a singular plank. Reapportioning the United States House of Representatives.

The political body that is supposed to represent us, the US House of Representatives is no longer serving it's constitutional designed purpose. John Adams believed the purpose of the house was to represent popular interests to combat the natural aristocracy that would be represented in the Senate.

Our voice has been lost. The people have spoken out time and time again, overwhelmingly to limit bad decisions by government. We see examples of it almost daily, be it the TARP program, the so-called healthcare overhaul, certain foreign affairs and the so-called war on drugs.

This problem can be traced back to Public Law 62-5 of 1911 and the Reapportionment Act of 1929 when the Number of US House Representatives was fixed at 435. Prior to this, the the house upheld it's constitutional duty to add representatives as needed as part of the redistricting process. This is a travesty akin to the 3/5th's compromise. Taxation without adequate representation is no better than taxation without representation.

To regain our voice, we must increase the number of seats in the house to better reflect original intent. Currently each of the 435 members represents an avarage of over 700,000 citizens. I believe trying to raise the number to reflect the original approtionment of one representative per 33,000 would be impractical. With a population of over 300 Million this would result in the house having over 9000 members. Instead I propose increasing the number of representatives to 3000 or 3500 which would give each member a constituency of 100,000 to 125,000 citizens. This number should be viewed as a seven fold increase in freedom and a seven fold reduction in corruption.

It has been said that there is something along the lines of 34,000 lobbyists in Washington which at 435 members of the house works out to about 80 per congressman. If there were suddenly 2000 more members of the US house, the corrupting influence would be reduced by seven fold.

I think it's time that we teach the body politic what Adams spoke about. The lesser house exists to represent the people while the upper house exists to represent the upper class. I know class warfare is a word that is thrown around derisively but the fact is that class warfare is a natural part of our constitution. If the lower house was a proper reflection of the population at large rather than the lobbying interests, the lobbyist proxy in the senate would not have the power it currently has to buy some of the votes we've see

CodeWeavers CrossOver PRO for Mac

CrossOver Mac allows you to install many popular Windows applications and games on your Intel OS X Mac. CrossOver includes an easy to use, single click interface, which makes installing Windows software simple and fast. Once installed, your application integrates seamlessly in OS X. Just click and run your application directly from the OS X Finder. Clicking a Windows file or document ? including email attachments ? will launch the appropriate Windows program, allowing you to work on the files. Best of all, you do it all easily and affordably, without needing a Microsoft operating system license.

DNS Benchmark with Wine

Internet browsing is a huge part our daily lives. No matter where we are we are bound to have contact with the internet in one form or another, and thus when we need it we want/need it to be as fast and as responsive as possible.

Before I get into how to find the fastest DNS for you, you need to know what a DNS is. DNS stands for Dynamic Naming Service. It’s been around for a while. It is why you are able to type in “www.wine-reviews.net” or “www.google.com” instead of an IP address such as 74.52.50.226 It is much easier to remember a name right? Than trying to remember (one of) Googles IP addresses such as: 74.125.43.104. Not only that, DNS allows you to have multiple sites and servers under one name (ie: adwords.google.com, images.google.com, ect…).

The problem with DNS servers is that they are heavily used, and a heavily used server will be slower than a server with little load. Your ISP probably sets an optimal DNS for you, but not always. Also, if you are behind a rounter or NAT, it’s likely that it is acting as your DNS. Especially if you are at home behind a router, consumer level router products are pretty poor at handling DNS optimally. Either way, it is a good idea to find what is the best DNS for you!

There are two very popular methods. Both methods work, but one is preferred. There is the NameBench program on Google Code and the GRC program DNS Benchmark (which is the preferred product). Both are free and great, but I trust GRC greatly. Both are free, but only NameBench is open source.

Note though, that both program will take a while to execute. They need this time to test all their known servers and then some. So give it some time. Grab some tea and munchies, might be a while.

GRC always produces high quality software. This is no exception. Programmed 100% in assembly language, this program performs spectacularly. It only in a Windows version, but Linux users can easily (and completely) run it using Wine.

Running DNS Benchmark is just as simple as the previous program. All you do is run it and click “Run Benchmark”. Again, go get more tea. It will be a while.

It’s kind of fun seeing this program run as it shows you live results. So you see as all the bars and graphs move. Kind of fun. Your current DNS servers are marked with bold text and a darker thicker black border.

You can view the current results in many forms. There is the Response time bar graph, Status, Owner and by name. You can also look at the “Tabular data” which is basically the same thing as the graph form except in all text and in a excel style tabular data format (kinda boring, so stick with the graph format for maximum excitement).

The results of DNS Benchmark are similar to that of NameBench. Except that GRC’s software does not test Google’s DNS or any other special ones.

I originally ran this program, and made changes using it’s suggestion. As I found out, my router was acting like a DNS server and allowed me to have only one DNS server listed. It is very highly recommended that you have at least 2, preferably 3 servers listed, just in case if one goes down.

As seen in this result shot, I have already implemented it’s suggest changes so there is nothing new for me here. Also, GRC’s software will not give you pretty graphs like NameBench. The result you will get back is in this form as you see here: plain text (with some light formatting). Anything highlighted in green is a good thing; anything in Red is something that you should probably change. Though these are only suggestions, implement them of your own free will.

After turning off my routers DNS services, I saw a considerable response time increase in my internet browsing. Soon I’ll try and implement the use of Googles DNS and Ultra DNS as suggested by NameBench. We’ll see how more responsive those are. Only actual user testing will tell.

To run DNS Benchmark just open a terminal and type :

$ wine DNSBench.exe

HOWTO Devil's Tuning Fork under Wine

I've been in a gaming mood of the late and I much prefer to be able to run my games under Linux as opposed to having to reboot into Windows. That being said a game I've really enjoyed playing is Devil's Tuning Fork. It is a very unique first person indie game in which your character "sees" with their ears. It is being developed by a team of students at DePaul University in Chicago and it is a free download from the game's homepage.

Getting DTF working under Wine is fairly easy. To do so do the following:
Now open your favorite terminal and navigate to the directory you saved the winetricks file to and run sh winetricks d3dx9 vcrun2008 xact dinput directplay at this point you will see lots of scrolling text as Wine Tricks works its magic, eventually it will prompt you to install VC2008 - install it.

Full Article

Thursday, December 24, 2009

Wine-Reviews and Bordeaux T-shirts now available at freewear.org

Aren't your T-shirts too dull? All my StarWars tees have a lot of colours and shades...

We think different, and give preference to quality over amount of colours. Those princess Leia in bikini T-shirts are printed with a technique called transfer, which more or less is like putting your T-shirt inside a printer.

We use screen printing, a technique that limits us to 6 colours per T-shirt (besides the T-shirt base color), but in return print quality is better, and your T-shirts will survive washmachines, pets and some small tsunami. Furthermore, we individually iron each T-shirt after printing, so that the design finish is smooth, firm and able to stand more tempests.

And what the hell, good things in this life have less than 6 colours: black chocolate (#000), a terminal (#000 and #fff, or #000 and #0f0 if you are that kind of geek), ...

So much OpenSource and stuff but neither your tees are free of charge nor I can see the source code!

Well, first, our T-shirts are "free as in speech but not as in beer", I mean, you can wear them orwards, backwards and sideways, and we'll not sue you for sharing them with your friends.

About source code, we tried to upload T-shirts but FTP won't let us, so at least here you have some screenshots of a T-shirt compilation.

Here is a couple images of what the shirts look like, they come in sizes from small to XXL. For each shirt sold they will donate 3.00 Euro back to us to help support this site.

The image “http://www.freewear.org/images/articles/detail/FW0045.png” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.
The image “http://www.freewear.org/images/articles/detail/FW0044.png” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

To purchase a shirt just click on the shirt image on freewear.orf and it will take you to their check out cart.

The Wine-Reviews T-shirt is here.
and
The Bordeaux T-shirt is here.

So if you would like a new T-shirt and to help support us at the same time then please buy a T-shirt :)

HOWTO Setup Steam Version of Crysis on Ubuntu

In one of my previous posts I mentioned I had the game Crysis running successfully under Cedega with a few native dll over rides. Today I am going to detail the few hoops you will need to jump through if you wish to get Crysis running on Linux.


We are going to need a few things before we get started and I feel it is easiest to round up all the files before we get started. Go download the following files:
In addition to these three files before we start you are going to need Cedega and the latest Wine version installed as well as Steam installed under both Wine and Cedega.

First thing we want to do is get Crysis downloading under the Wine version of Steam (this is going to take awhile depending on your internet connection). While you are waiting for this to download take the two .dll files you downloaded and place them into ~/.cedega/Steam/c_drive/windows/system32 next load up Cedega and install the vcredist_x86.exe into your Steam folder.

Once Crysis is done downloading on Steam (running under Wine) go ahead and load the game through Steam. It will prompt you to install several things (DirectX, .NET, and Punkbuster) - install all of them. Once it is done with this Wine should even load Crysis to the main menu for you (however if you try to load a level of the game itself it will result in X crashing - give it a try if you do not believe me).

Full Article

Running Tales of Monkey Island with Wine

I’m a proud adventure game fan boy and have enjoyed countless hours in the company of Monkey Island, Day of the Tentacle, Legend of Kyrandia among others. ScummVm have helped to re enjoy many of these titles after replacing my preferred desktop system with Linux.

When the news reached my ears about “Tales of Monkey Island” I was very exited. But also nervous if would be able to play these episodes without Windows… but fear no more.

It is possible!

My system:

  • Nvidia graphic card
  • Ubuntu Karmic 64bit
  • Wine from special package archive (to get native pulse audio support)

The episodes install on all Wine versions I’ve tried on so far (several guides on the internet suggests not to check for DirectX, though I haven’t personally experienced any difference). When the game starts you are asked to provide the serial number. In this phase I’ve encountered trouble several times. Earlier providing the serial number only worked in old versions of Wine (like version 1.0) but this time I got it working with the newest version of Wine (which at the time was 1.1.32). Also I had to delete my .wine folder in order to reset wine because I apparently had some IE6 leftovers in there which otherwise would mess up the registration.

After activating the episodes you need to install D3DX9_41.dll into .wine/drive_c/windows/system32. Remember Linux is case sensitive so it is possible to have several different files with the same name except for the case. If it still doesn’t work make sure you only have one d3dx9_41.dll and that it’s not the one provided by wine (which won’t work).

Full Article

How to install Spotify on Ubuntu Linux

Although there's officially no Linux client, it's actually very easy to run Spotify from a Linux computer.

Spotify is a great application that allows you to stream music direct from Spotify's servers and play it on your local machine. There's a good Mac client, one for Windows, but as yet no Linux client.

However, it's actually quite quick and easy to get Spotify up and running on Linux when you know how. Spotify even provide details on how to do this on their website.

Download Spotify for Windows
First go to Spotify.com and download the Windows version of Spotify. This is a .exe executable.



Install Wine
We're going to run the Windows version of Spotify using the Wine software. Wine recreates a Windows-like environment within Linux allowing you to run Windows software relatively seamlessly. To install simply open a Terminal and paste in this command 'sudo aptitude install wine'.


Load Spotify with Wine Windows Program Loader
Find the Spotify.exe file in your Downloads folder, or wherever you saved it to, then right click it and select 'Open with Wine Windows Program Loader'.



Select install location
You can simply select the default install location when prompted. Wine doesn't save files to a place within your home directory so this doesn't really matter too much.



Login using your Spotify credentials
When the login form comes up, simply enter your Spotify username and password to login.


Play with Spotify

Full Article

Monday, December 21, 2009

Google Map Saver on Linux with Wine

About Google Map Saver

Google Map Saver is a portable software program that feels more responsive and less complicated to use. The user can enter a location or point of interest and the program will download the available data from Google Maps. Then just click on the Go! button and the map of the location will be displayed, this process takes only a few seconds on a fast Internet connection. The usual Google Maps controls are available including zooming in and out, moving around with the mouse or switching between map, satellite and terrain view. The ability to save loaded maps as images, so that you can use them offline or take them anywhere with you is really nice.

The zoom factor and map type can also be changed in pulldown menus at the top. Just select the desired map size and output format and click a button to save the map in PNG, JPG, BMP or TARGA format. Images of the maps that are displayed can be saved in various resolutions (e.g. window size, QVGA – 320×240, VGA-640×480, iPhone-320×480, PAL-768×576, NTSC-720×480, SVGA-800×600, XGA-1024×768, WXGA-1024×600, WXGA-1280×800, HD720-1280×720, HD1080-1920×1080 or custom formats up to 10000×10000. Various output formats including jpg, png, targa and bmp are available. The resulting images can be large (40+ Megabytes) if the highest resolutions are selected.

Google Map Saver is an uncomplicated program that can be used to save locations in Google Maps in a short period of time. The program is portable and available at the developer’s homepage. The watermark can be removed by clicking on the globe in the upper right corner to get to the about page and there on the Activate button which will remove the watermark.

Wine configuration

This is with a clean configuration directory.

Linux Distribution: Ubuntu 8.04
Windows version emulated: XP
Wine version tested: 1.1.35

Dependencies

Before Google Map Saver will run properly with Wine you will need to install Internet Explorer, I installed IE 7 via winetricks as this is the easiest way to install IE 7 on Wine at this time.

GMS Download

Version 1.0.2 of Google Map Saver can be downloaded from here. gms.exe is a stand alone application that doesn't need to be installed only run from Wine.

First Run

Just open a terminal and run $ wine gms.exe and the application should start and display a blank page. The default location is Karlsruhe, Germany and if you try to load it as is you will receive a error.


To work around this error just enter the name of the city or the country and then your map should start to load. You will receive two script errors once the map starts loading, jut click yes and proceed. once the map is loaded the zoom in and out will go blank but it still works. One the fist zoom in or out go to the upper left and click in or out. Once the first zoom is completed you can then use your mouse to zoom by just double clicking the map. You can also drag the map with your mouse as usual.

Here is a screenshot of GMS running on my laptop, also two maps I saved of Reykjavik Iceland the most beautiful city on our blue planet, and a satellite image of Nuuk Greenland.





B.T.W... This howto should also work on FreeBSD, OpenSolaris and Mac systems.

Saturday, December 19, 2009

Has Transgaming Abandoned Cedega?

Pretty much anyone who has used Linux for at least a short while is aware of Wine technology and what it does. For many Linux users, largely Linux gamers, having properly working Wine technology is essential to their everyday computer user. The topic of commercial Wine software has been known to cause many heated discussions over the years on various Linux message boards. It appears at long last that perhaps this seemingly eternal argument may finally be coming to an end. Transgaming, the company behind Cedega, appears to be finally putting down its (some would say much controversial) Linux software.

While nothing official has been posted by the company itself, I feel it is pretty obvious Transgaming is letting Cedega die a slow death. November 13th 2009 marked the one year date since we last saw an update in Cedega's news page - The Den. While we did see a small update to the software in August - this did not add any new functionality to Cedega, it simply resolved an issue a World of Warcraft update had introduced. It is also heavily obvious that Transgaming does not check their user forums (or they really just don't care about what happens there if they do). There is now a two page thread on the boards of users simply asking for news on what is going on with the company/future of Cedega - we've gotten no official response.

Full Article

Friday, December 18, 2009

Wine 1.1.35 Released

The Wine development release 1.1.35 is now available.

What's new in this release:

  • Support for OLE transacted storage.
  • Better certificate checking on secure connections.
  • More progress on the 16-bit separation.
  • Left 4 Dead 2 DRM really supported now.
  • MSI performance improvements.
  • 64-bit fixes in debugger support.
  • Various bug fixes.

The source is available now. Binary packages are in the process of being built, and will appear soon at their respective download locations.

Bugs fixed in 1.1.35:

5908 Ability Office 4 doesn't start up?
6930 TortoiseSVN fails to install
8394 IMVU 3D Instant Messenger not visible in wine's uninstaller
8895 Circuit Design Suite 10 fails to install
9535 WinPCap 4.0.1 installer does not run at all
10950 Colin McRae Rally 04: picture shifted down by ~1/4 of height
12014 Ability installer crashes in crypt32
12418 parent window getting closed instead of a tool window in KDE
13393 closing one virtual desktop closes other(s)
14378 Issues with maps and character portrait in Morrowind
14390 Gmax 1.2: Fatal Error on Install - Ended Prematurely.
14465 NdrClientCall2 is unaware of comm_status and fault_status variables
14536 FLSynthmaker crashes FL Studio
14995 wined3d regression results in broken rendering for Age of Empires II
15176 Assassin's Creed Install crashes
15278 ApexDC++ cannot connect to users
15624 poivy crashes
15638 Adobe Photoshop CS4 installer crashes on unimplemented GetProductInfo if run in Vista mode
15711 GetHostName and GetHostByName
15940 Ethnic Cleansing crashes: mpegsplit.c assertion
16244 Installer of Age of Empires 3 crashes
16299 IMVU 3D Instant Messenger installer crashes
17666 WinARM make crashes
17911 Gothic 3: Stripe on the right part of the screen is not updated in high resolutions
18120 No text in Qt-4.5.0 and later apps when winver >= 2000
18574 Win92 Radio Scanner does not start
18648 Error unimplemented function snmpapi.dll on start bginfo program
18753 wineboot --shutdown does not close running programs
18786 Minitab doesn't run anymore
19483 crash when launching zattoo
19802 SiSoftware Sandra 2009.SP4 unhandled exception
19898 WinMX: crashes instantly upon start
20013 Exchange Server 2007 fails to start
20224 dlls/d3dx9_36/tests/math.C: Test failed: Expected matrix
20281 Adobe Photoshop CS4 installer unusable
20397 Eclipse (Europa) Welcome window is empty
20492 Adobe CS4 installer hangs in memory and has to be killed
20522 Graphic Glitcheson Game Maker games
20653 Warcraft 3 freezes after successful login into Battle.net
20684 Memory leak in CryptGenKey/CryptDestroyKey?
20727 Characters in Sacred Underworld invisible
20742 Sorted list view control always inserts at the end
20806 Civilization II crashes on startup
20823 Trackmania Nations Forever: really loud crackling / no sound
20850 Write buffer overflow in WidenPath()
20851 Read buffer overflow in CombineRgn, triggered by user32 and imm32 tests
20898 Rayman 2: wine does not render "transparent color"
20913 Multiple games crash on start
20920 Read buffer overflow in StorageImpl_Construct in many msi tests
20923 Crash in mshtml/tests/events.c when run under valgrind
20941 3DMark 2001SE crash on start
20943 Red Alert 3 fails to start
20944 Civilization IV Beyond the Sword crashes after the loading splash screen.
20949 Native d3dx9_27.dll causes crash on save load
20960 Textures missing in demoscene's demo fr-041_debris
20963 CIV4(BTS)/steam crashes at launch after upgrade wine1.2 1.1.33-0ubuntu1~ppa1 to 1.1.34-0ubuntu1
20978 Quicktime 7.1.6.200 installer fails
20991 EnumRfc1766_create return values
20992 Invalid free in oleaut32 / vartype tests in test_VarBstrFromDate
20995 Crysis Demo does not start
20999 installations that were fast in 1.1.34 are very slow now due to ole32 storage changes
21021 F1 Challenge 2007 crash
21044 Platform SDK 2003 install fails?
21045 Memory leak in SECUR32_addPackages

Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Stuck with Windows Because of PC Games? Make the Switch to Mac and Bring Your Games with You

There are a lot of people who would like to give Mac a try, but for those that identify themselves as PC gamers going to Mac really isn’t an option because the majority of popular games these days are made for Windows and don’t have any Mac ports. Luckily, through the magic of software, it is possible to play some of the most popular PC games on your Mac.

Enter Crossover Games for Mac by Codeweavers. Based on a free program called Wine, which allows Windows applications to be executed on Unix operating systems like Mac or Linux, Crossover Games for Mac is a $40 application which will let you play the following PC games right on your Intel-based Mac (click on the image of each game to see Codeweavers’ compatibility report on the game):

WoW

eve

guild wars.jpgpreytf2css cscivilization peggle cod2 max paynegta2

Steam game images are from the Steam Store website.

…and the list goes on.

Granted, you’ll still need a computer powerful enough to run the games of your choice, and you’ll want to check the compatibility report for the game(s) you’d like to play before you drop your coin on this software, but Crossover Games provides a solution for people who like PC games but want to go with a Mac computer. If you’d like to see Crossover Games in action take a look at this video.

Install MS office2007 on ubuntu using PlayOnLinux

PlayOnLinux is a piece of sofware which allows you to easily install and use numerous games and softwares designed to run with MicrosoftĂ‚®'s WindowsĂ‚®. In this tutorial i will show you how to install MS office 2007 student using Playonlinux on ubuntu jaunty jackalope, the installation has been tested also on a ubuntu 9.10 karmic koala, the install process is easy and no command lines are used.

For ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala, PlayOnLinux is actually available in the universe repositories, you can install it by typing the simple command :

sudo apt-get install playonlinux

Now after playonlinux is installed ,lets start

Now the installation is easy just follow the steps as described on the screenshots bellow :

1- Open Playonlinux

Go to your menu and open Application-->Games-->PlayOnlinux

2- Click Next

3- Select from where you will install MS office 2007

4- enter you MS office 2007 KEY

5- Accept the term and conditions then click continue

6- Click install now to start the installation of MS Office2007

7- MS office is installing :

8- Installation is complete :

9- Create Menu and Desktop shotcuts

10-Ms Office 2007 has been installed successfully


Full Article

Monday, December 14, 2009

Games for MS Win run in Linux with Crossover for Games

Tutorial Screencast on how to use Codeweavers Crossover for Games to be able to run almost all Games which where designed for MS Windows on Ubuntu Linux 9.10.






Full Article

winetricks 20091213 released

Dan Kegel announced the release of winetricks 20091213 here is the email he sent to the wine-devel mailing list.

Austin and Andrew have been hard at work keeping winetricks working smoothly.
In particular, the ie6 and gecko verbs should work again.
Thanks guys!

Changes since 20091125:

Austin English:

  • Workaround wine bug for IE6
  • Update shockwave sha1sum
  • Add python-comtypes verb
  • Explain windows licensing a bit better
  • Gdiplus no longer comes from powerpoint viewer, update description accordingly
  • Update DivX to latest version, remove obsolete /silent option
  • Make append_path work if called more than once
  • When installing gecko, regsvr32 mshtml afterward, so it actually works
  • Update KDE to 0.9.6-5
  • When using native mdac, also override oledb32
  • Bump artk2min to 2007 Access runtime (freely redistributable, wooo!)
Andrew Nguyen:
  • Update flash to latest version.
  • Check more exit codes.
  • Update the vb6run verb to use the Service Pack 6 variant.
  • Revise vcrun6 verb to remove more fake DLLs and more simply extract mfc42u.dll.
  • Add vcrun6sp6 verb. (New verb rather than update of vcrun6 as it's a
  • huge download.)
  • Add richtx32 verb.
Dan Kegel:
  • Add heapcheck verb (for use with the not-yet-committed heapcheck patches)
  • Avoid double-trying regedit

Online as always at
http://kegel.com/wine/winetricks
or
http://winezeug.googlecode.com
(Bug reports to the issue tracker at the above URL, please.)




Source Games and Wine

Many a day on the Ubuntu Forums, I stumble upon posts like: “Program X doesn’t work under ubuntu, I’m leaving”. As it turns out, some of these posts are for the Source games, mainly the multiplayer ones (Counter Strike: Source, Day of Defeat: Source, Half Life 2: Deathmatch, Team Fortress 2). For that purpose I’m gonna make a short guide, just to show how I had luck getting the Source games to work.

First, get WINE (obviously). For best results, add the WINE PPAs. This allows you to use the latest WINE release:

  1. Go to System>Administration>Software Sources. You will be prompted for a password.
  2. Click on the “Third Party Software” tab
  3. Add the appropriate PPA to this list by clicking on “Add”. The PPAs are according to your Ubuntu Version. If you are not sure which version you are using, go to System>About Ubuntu, and look at the second paragraph. It should say something like “Thank you for your interest in Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron”. Anyway, here are the PPAs:
  • ppa:ubuntu-wine/ppa (for 9.10)
  • deb http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/apt jaunty main #WineHQ – Ubuntu 9.04 “Jaunty Jackalope” (for 9.04)
  • deb http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/apt intrepid main #WineHQ – Ubuntu 8.10 “Intrepid Ibex” (for 8.10)
  • deb http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/apt hardy main #WineHQ – Ubuntu 8.04 “Hardy Heron” (for 8.04)
  1. After Adding this you will need to vailidate it. Please download Scott Ritchie’s Key and save it to your desktop. In Software Sources, click on the “Authentcation” tab, and click “Import Key File”. Then click on “Desktop” and double-click “Scott Ritchie.gpg”.
  2. Finally, you can close Software Sources. A box will pop up asking if you want to reload sources. Click this, and the window will close after a minute or so.
  3. Moving on to installing WINE, go to Applications>Software Center (or Add/Remove) and type “wine” into the search box. If in software center, click on “wine windows emulator” and then “install”. If using add/remove, click the checkbox next to “wine windows emulator”, and then hit apply. Enter your password as prompted, and then close the box when completed.
  4. Now to install Steam. Download this file, and double-click on it. It should open through WINE, and then follow the instructions in the installer. Enter your account info, or create a new one.
  5. Once Steam is up and running go to Settings, and click on the “In-game” tab. Uncheck the box next to “Enable Steam Community in-game (Sorry, In-game does not work on WINE). Now it’s time to install your games. If you bought them through Steam (or have already activated them), simply right click on each game you want to install and click “Install Game”. If you bought them through retail (On CD/DVD), you need to activate your game. Click on “Activate a Product on Steam”. Click “next” and then you will see a License Agreement. Go ahead and click “I Agree” if you agree with the terms (or just don’t care). You will have to enter a CD key (located on the small card inside of the game’s box. It is toward the bottom of the card). You may be prompted to insert the game CD/DVD. Go ahead and place the CD/DVD into the drive and Steam will ask you what games you want to install. Check all that apply, let it run, and if you need to insert addtional CD/DVDs, please do so.
  6. Now, go to Applications>Wine>Configure Wine. Under the applications tab, click “Add Application”. Go to Program Files>Steam>steamapps>username>game, replacing “username” with your username, and “game” with the multiplayer source game of your choosing. Double-click hl2.exe and select under the menu “Windows Version” to “Windows 98″. Save and exit. (you do not need to do this for each Source game. This will configure all multiplayer Source games you have, no matter which game’s hl2.exe you configure)
  7. Open up Steam and right click on each of your Source games (yes, for each one). Click on “Properties” and then “Set launch options”. Type “-dxlevel 81 -novid” exactly like that (but without quotes). click OK and exit.
  8. Double Click on the game and Launch. Technically you’re done!

This was my method. It works perfectly for me, but your experiences may differ.


Full Article

Thursday, December 10, 2009

Review Crossover Games Linux 8.1.3

To start off, here's some info on Crossover Games

Now gamers can play the games they want, on whatever platform they want! With CrossOver Games, you can run many popular Windows games on your Intel, OSX Mac or Linux PC. Whatever your tastes, be they first-person shooters, fantasy, strategy, MMORPGs, or more, CrossOver Games provides the capability to run many popular games titles. CrossOver comes with an easy to use, single click interface, which makes installing your games simple and fast. Once installed, your game integrates seamlessly into your Desktop. Just click and run! Best of all, you do it all easily and affordably, without needing a Microsoft operating system license.

Some notable features already in previous versions are Multi user support, Bottles (It is essentially different wineprefix for each application to ensure compatibility) and a list of supported games for quick installs.



The Latest release from them is Crossover 8.1.3

ChangeLog

8.1.3 CrossOver Games - November 24, 2009

  • Fix yet more Left 4 Dead 2 issues
  • Worked around a driver bug on ATI cards on Snow Leopard. Should improve behavior in Team Fortress 2, Left 4 Dead, and many others.

8.1.2 CrossOver Games - November 20, 2009

  • Fix installation of Left 4 Dead 2 via Steam on the Mac.

8.1.1 CrossOver Games - November 19, 2009

  • Prevent 'error 53' during installation of Left4Dead 2 with the latest Steam client.

8.1.0 CrossOver Games (aka Zombie Mallard) - November 18, 2009

  • Add support for Left 4 Dead 2
  • Fix a problem with directory permissions in World of Warcraft in Ubuntu 9.10
  • Fix a number of problems with Guild Wars
  • Fix a number of Mac audio issues which should fix Steam voice chat
  • A few minor adjustments for Snow Leopard
  • Fix a bug registering CrossOver under Snow Leopard

8.0.0 CrossOver Games - September 2, 2009

  • Improved behavior of the Steam game store
  • Fixed several problems with memory management -- this should fix TF2 crashes, among others.
  • Enabled Shader Model 2.0 and 3.0 by default
  • New supported games:

    • Dragon Sky
    • Last Chaos
    • Jade Dynasty
    • Ether Saga
    • Perfect World
    • Left 4 Dead
    • Tales of Monkey Island
    • Shaiya (Though only in non-English versions, for DRM reasons)
  • Fixed various regressions in:

    • Half-Life 2
    • Team Fortress 2
    • Spore
    • Guild Wars
    • Civilization IV
    • LOTRO (unsupported)
    • EVE (unsupported)
    • Pharaoh (unsupported)
    • City of Heroes (unsupported)
    • Lego Star Wars (unsupported)
    • Bejeweled
This release, Crossover Games 8.1.3, has fixed various issues with L4D 2 and created workarounds for the ATI driver issue with SnowLeopard.

Crossover Games 8.1.3 utilizes Wine 1.1.25

And in this Review (like every other I have written, I will again attempt to find the reasons why Crossover 8.1.3 is worth our money.

In this review Crossover Games 8.1.3 will be pitted and benchmarked against Wine 1.1.33 using Everest Ultimate Edition benchmarking utilities (don't ask me why I use it. I just happen to have it conveniently on hand.)


I didn't go through all the benchmarks though, as 5 were sufficient.

PS: For those of you wondering about the memory latency, both Wine and Cxgames achieved 65ms.

My test rig (also my daily usage rig):
C2d 2.4ghz
4gig ram
Nvidia 8400 gs

For me, I generally use Crossover Games to run Steam and other Half-life 2 mod games like Counterstrike source, TeamFortress 2, Insurgency and Left4dead.

Well, the bench marks aren't everything, so I decided to give it a road test. This time Crossover Games 8.1.3 with wine 1.1.25 (Counterstrike source has a minor bug with wine 1.1.33 )

Running Counterstrike Source with DirectX level 8 and a resolution of 1150 by 900 in a sever of 77 tick and 20 people.


The results aren't really glamorous, but Crossover games did indeed perform better than Wine on the road test.

Running Team Fortress 2 with DirectX level 8 and a resolution of 1150 by 900 in a sever of 100 tick and 26 people


Well, this review wouldn't be complete if I didn't insert a few screenshots. I love screenshots As you can see from the screenshots Steam integrates rather well with Compiz thanks to Crossover Games 8.1.3.

Forgive me, I was playing mouse hunt on Faceboook while writing this review.

Yup, Some Screenshots when I am playing Counterstrike Source.

In conclusion, the results, graphs, and statistics have shown Crossover Games 8.1.3 is better than Wine. IMHO, yes it is worth our money. Plus Codeweavers (the company behind Crossover) are one of the main contributers to Wine.

Full Article