Thursday, October 30, 2008

Internet Explorer 7 status on Wine 1.1.7

About Internet Explorer 7

Windows Internet Explorer 7 (IE7) is a web browser released by Microsoft in October 2006. Internet Explorer 7 is part of a long line of versions of Internet Explorer and is the first major update to the browser in over 5 years. It ships as the default browser in Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 and is offered as a replacement for Internet Explorer 6 on Windows XP and Windows Server 2003. Estimates of IE7's global market share place it between approximately 26% and 47%.

Large portions of the underlying architecture, including the rendering engine and security framework, have been significantly reworked. New features include tabbed browsing, page zooming, an integrated search box, a feed reader, better internationalization, and improved support for web standards. Security enhancements include a phishing filter, stronger encryption on Windows Vista, and a "Delete browsing history" button to easily clear private data.

I thought I would see what the status of Internet Explorer 7 is in Wine 1.1.7 so I downloaded the installer from Microsoft and proceeded to try and install the Browser in current Wine. I was pleasantly surprised to get as far as I did, I tweaked my configuration and got the installer to proceed up to the point to where it does it's WGA check, the last step before the actual install.

But there would be no joy today, no matter what I tried I couldn't get the installer to pass the WGA check. So I thought I would try and run Internet Explorer 7 from the install directory that I made. And was once again surprised when the browser actually came to life and started to run. Keep in mind run does not mean function. :)

The browser starts up and gives a error and then crashes, But this is a huge step forward from just a couple months ago when I first tried Internet Explorer 7 and got no where close to this point. But don't worry ill keep a eye on Internet Explorer and if there is any noticeable change in the install or usability ill post it here.



































































One way to help support further development on Internet Explorer support is to purchase CrossOver Office and then vote for IE 7 as the app that you would most like to see supported in a future release.

Tuesday, October 28, 2008

CodeWeavers software free for download today!

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CODEWEAVERS' SOFTWARE FREE FOR DOWNLOAD THANKS TO GEORGE W. BUSH AND FALLING GAS PRICES

Giveaway Triggered in CodeWeaver's Great American Lame Duck Presidential Challenge; "We take full responsibility for global economic collapse," says CEO

SAINT PAUL, Minn. (October 27, 2008) – The catastrophic cratering of the global economy, falling gas prices and President George W. Bush's recent executive activities have indirectly prompted Saint Paul gadfly software developers CodeWeavers, Inc., to provide free software for every American on Oct. 28, company officials reluctantly announced today.

In July, CodeWeavers – whose software lets Mac OS X and Linux users run Windows programs without having to Microsoft for a Windows OS license – launched the Great American Lame Duck Presidential Challenge (lameduck.codeweavers.com) to encourage President Bush to make the most of his remaining days in office by accomplishing a major economic or political goal by January 20, 2009.

The goals focused on President Bush making specific positive accomplishments in areas such as the economy, home values, the stock market, the war on terror and other key issues. Specifically, one goal called for President Bush to help down bring average gasoline prices in the Twin Cities to $2.79 a gallon.

On Monday, Oct. 14, gas prices in Minneapolis and St. Paul did just that.

"That morning, I was filling my tank at Big Steve's Gas Palace in St. Paul," said Jeremy White, president and CEO of CodeWeavers. "I had just finished my morning corn dog and 64-ounce Dr. Pepper when I looked at the pump and noticed gas was at $2.79. I screamed ‘Woohoo,' then I yelled ‘Oh, crap!' as I realized every American can now have my software for free. Kind of upsets my fourth quarter revenue projections..."

White admits this is not how he foresaw the Challenge unfolding.

"I launched the campaign to inspire President Bush to make the most of his final days in office. Who knew that our Challenge would have this kind of impact on the country?" White said. "On the other hand, who knew that the economy would implode, causing oil demand to drop into the abyss and gas prices to plummet as well. Clearly, investigating Bear Stearns, AIG and those guys is misplaced – CodeWeavers is responsible for this mess. So it's free software for all!"

How to Get the Free Software
On Tuesday, Oct. 28, 2008, any one visiting the CodeWeavers' Web site (www.codeweavers.com) will be given a deal code that will entitle them to one free copy of CodeWeavers' award-winning CrossOver software. Each copy comes complete with support.

"I realize that by giving away all my software, I've caused horrific damage to my company's bottom line," White said. "In fact, our vice president of sales wretched Starbucks all over his shirt when he learned the news. But, I figure, the way the economy is going, in a few months everyone might be out on the streets, wearing potato sacks and standing in line for squirrel soup, so why not?"

White also noted that if other Great American Lame Duck Presidential Challenge goals are met, CodeWeavers will once again provide free software. Goals include:

  • Return the stock market to it's 2008 high
  • Reduce the average price of a gallon of milk to $3.50
  • Create at least one net job in the U.S. this calendar year
  • Return the median home price to its Jan. 1, 2008 level
  • Bring Osama Bin-Laden to justice

About CodeWeavers

Founded in 1996 as a general software consultancy, CodeWeavers today focuses on the development of Wine: the core technology found in all of its CrossOver products. The company's goal is to bring expanded market opportunities for Windows software developers by making it easier, faster and more painless to port Windows software to Mac OS X and Linux. CodeWeavers is recognized as a leader in open-source Windows porting technology, and maintains development offices in Minnesota, the UK and elsewhere around the world. The company is privately held. For more information about CodeWeavers, log on to www.codeweavers.com.

Monday, October 27, 2008

Wine 1.1.7 Review First Steps of Direct3D 10 Implementation

I think Wine is one of the most promising and useful applications, especially for those who need to run Windows programs in a Linux environment. A new development release is put up every two weeks or so, and improvements are visible from each version to another.

Wine is the project which makes possible to run games like World of WarCraft, Counter-Strike, Half-Life 2, WarCraft III and so on. And Wine is also the project which makes possible for web developers to test how their web page is viewed under Internet Explorer. Not to mention hundreds of other applications which work very well or well enough with it.

Ever since the first release tagged as 'stable' was put out for the public after 15 years of development, the Wine project continued development and now the latest version is 1.1.7, which brings numerous improvements and additions.

According to the official announcement, one of the highlights for this release is that the first steps were taken to implement the Direct3D technology, which is part of the DirectX API from Microsoft. The open and widespread competitor for Direct3D is OpenGL, the Open Graphics Library.

It's well-known that Wine works awesome with games like WoW, Counter-Strike or Half-Life 2.

A while ago I ran and installed the new Google Chrome web browser through Wine, since a Linux port is not available yet, and the result was very satisfying: with the exception of a little interface slowness, it behaved very well.


For this release, I installed Google Chrome following the tutorial I wrote for 1.1.6. I had to run it as:

wine ~/.wine/drive_c/windows/profiles/USERNAME/Local\ Settings/Application\ Data/Google/Chrome/Application/chrome.exe --new-http --in-process-plugins

And replaced USERNAME with my username. Chrome displayed all the web pages I tried, including this blog, Digg.com, YouTube.com (with the Flash plugin too) and the WineHQ homepage, but scrolling a page is extremely slow and choppy until the web page is completely loaded. I never tested Google Chrome on Windows so I can't compare exactly the behaviour.


I also installed Adobe Flash Player using the browser instead of winetricks. Below are some screenshots running Chrome through Wine. As you can see, Flash is enabled:


Wine provides an application database on their homepage, which classifies applications depending on how well they run and perform: platinum, gold, silver. The nice thing is that each application has detailed information on how to set it up in order to work best, in what conditions it was tested and it also includes user comments. Usually, if a game or application is known to work through Wine but you couldn't set it up, have a look at the comments posted and a solution will surely be provided.

As I already mentioned, one of the most popular games which worked perfectly for me in Wine is World of WarCraft:

World of WarCraft

I was glad to see the mIRC scripts editor does not crash the application anymore, but instead I couldn't make it connect to another network but the default QuakeNet, so you will have to use the /server command. Otherwise, mIRC 6.35 works pretty well, and if you really really need it and can't re-write your scripts for a native Linux client you can use it through Wine. Still, I suggest using a native IRC client like XChat, Konversation or Irssi.


I also tried the last version of Winamp, 5.541, and I installed the Lite version. It works very well, although I did not test it for long. It plays music.


It's true, I don't think Linux needs to run a player like Winamp, when we have powerful and full-featured, native and open-source audio players like Amarok, Banshee, Rhythmbox, Songbird or XMMS. But maybe someone still finds a use for it, or it can help those who just switched from Windows and can't get used to another player.



Full Article

CrossOver 7.1.0 for Mac and Linux released!

Codeweavers released Crossover 7.1.0 for Linux and Mac systems a couple days back, here is the full change logs for each system. While there practically the same I thought I would post both Change logs so their wouldn't be any confusion on what has changed for each platform.

Changelog for CrossOver Linux:

7.1.0 CrossOver Linux - October 22, 2008

  • Outlook fixes:
    • Restored use of the Rules and Alerts dialog
    • Improved connectivity with Exchange servers
    • Fixed installation of several custom versions of Outlook
    • Improved copy and paste behavior
    • Fixed 'reply all' behavior
    • Improved printing
    • Partial support for signed emails
    • Fixed some address autocompleteion in Outlook 2007
    • Fixed ability to create new contacts, appointments & tasks
    • 2003 & 2007 now exit cleanly on the Mac
    • Can now open recurring Calendar Items
  • Application installation changes:
    • Many more versions of Office 2007 (including Enterprise editions) now install properly.
    • Office 2003 Service Pack 3 now installs.
    • Office 2003 one-shot updates now apply.
    • Several more versions of Office 2003 now install.
    • MS Office language packs now install
    • Visio 2003 sp3 now installs.
  • Other fixes:
    • Office 97 now works better.
    • PowerPoint 2003 slide preview improved.
    • Bidirectional text behavior is improved.
    • Access 2002 reporting is improved.
    • Improved Java behavior.
    • Use the native FreeType library on Leopard systems.
    • On Linux, add the ability to generate Debian bottle packages.
    • Fixed a CrossOver installation error specific to Estonian locales.
    • Fixed: Word 2003: Can't open Word doc, Out of Memory
    • Pull-down menus now appear more than once (WordArt)
    • Can now open Project 2007 files with Project 2003 (with the add-on installed)
    • Rotating text boxes now works in the proper direction
Changelog for CrossOver Mac:

7.1.0 CrossOver Mac - October 22, 2008

  • Outlook fixes:
    • Restored use of the Rules and Alerts dialog
    • Improved connectivity with Exchange servers
    • Fixed installation of several custom versions of Outlook
    • Improved copy and paste behavior
    • Fixed 'reply all' behavior
    • Improved printing
    • Partial support for signed emails
    • Fixed some address autocompleteion in Outlook 2007
    • Fixed ability to create new contacts, appointments & tasks
    • 2003 & 2007 now exit cleanly on the Mac
    • Can now open recurring Calendar Items
  • Application installation changes:
    • Many more versions of Office 2007 (including Enterprise editions) now install properly.
    • Office 2003 Service Pack 3 now installs.
    • Office 2003 one-shot updates now apply.
    • Several more versions of Office 2003 now install.
    • MS Office language packs now install
    • Visio 2003 sp3 now installs.
  • Other fixes:
    • Office 97 now works better.
    • PowerPoint 2003 slide preview improved.
    • Bidirectional text behavior is improved.
    • Access 2002 reporting is improved.
    • Improved Java behavior.
    • Use the native FreeType library on Leopard systems.
    • On Linux, add the ability to generate Debian bottle packages.
    • Fixed a CrossOver installation error specific to Estonian locales.
    • Fixed: Word 2003: Can't open Word doc, Out of Memory
    • Pull-down menus now appear more than once (WordArt)
    • Can now open Project 2007 files with Project 2003 (with the add-on installed)
    • Rotating text boxes now works in the proper direction

Sunday, October 19, 2008

Running Google Chrome Under Wine 1.1.6 in Debian

Google Chrome is an open-source web browser from Google, currently available only for the Windows platform. It aims to have a minimal and easy to use interface. Chrome uses the WebKit rendering engine, which was developed from KHTML, and it is used in various browsers like Konqueror on KDE4 or Safari (on Mac OS X).


First of all, install Wine 1.1.6. I created two guides for installing the last Wine release, here (from the WineHQ APT repository) and here (compiling from source). Don't worry if the tutorials are for 1.1.5 and 1.1.4 respectively, they will work for a later Wine version too.

I only tried it with Wine setup as Windows XP in winecfg.

Also, install the cabextract package as root:

apt-get install cabextract

Get the last version of winetricks using this command:

wget http://www.kegel.com/wine/winetricks

Make the winetricks script executable, then install the packages below by issuing the following commands:

chmod 755 winetricks
./winetricks msxml3 corefonts flash winxp riched20 riched30

Next, download Google Chrome from here. You can use this command in your terminal:

wget http://dl.google.com/chrome/install/149.30/chrome_installer.exe

To run it, use:

wine chrome_installer.exe

Chrome should start the first time, and you will be able to see it as in the screenshots below:


Close it, then run it using the following command:

wine ~/.wine/drive_c/windows/profiles/YOUR_USERNAME/Local\ Settings/Application\ Data/Google/Chrome/Application/chrome.exe

Make sure to pay attention to any case-sensitive characters if that's the case, and also replace YOUR_USERNAME.


Edit: I saw suggestions to run chrome.exe with the arguments --new-http and --in-process-plugins, although it seemed to work fine for me without the need of those.

For a complete list of Chrome command-line arguments, go here. They are listed from the Google Chrome source file src/chrome/common/chrome_switches.cc and are briefly explained.

How it behaves
It looks very, very good in my opinion, but the interface is extremely slow. I guess until the Linux port will be ready, Google Chrome through Wine is useful only to have a preview of it, or eventually test how it displays web pages.


My impression was the one which Firefox gave me when I first used it, back at version 1.0 (1.0.4 if I recall correctly): simple interface, clean, with only the basic options which one needs, but powerful in the same time.

Full Article

Friday, October 17, 2008

Wine 1.0.1 Released

The Wine maintenance release 1.0.1 is now available. This is a maintenance release from the 1.0 stable branch. It contains only translation updates and small bug fixes The source is available now. Binary packages are in the process of being built, and will appear soon at their respective download locations


Bugs fixed in 1.0.1:

5031 First Encounter Assault Recon (FEAR) SP Demo Crashes on Start
6650 MSTSC (Remote Desktop) crashes
9775 Syberia 2, Max Payne 1 & 2 - Screenshots and thumbnails broken
9777 Silencer doesn't fully connect to lobby server.
10132 bad cyrillic font rendering
10229 Serious Sam TSE 1.07 - network connection fails
11198 C & C Tiberian Sun reporsts comctl32.dll is an older version on winver higher then 98
11494 Speed Commander 12 does not install
11640 Unable to use multiplayer in Sins of a Solar Empire: unknown address family
11766 Heap corruption in crypt32 during Sandra benchmark?
11936 window size is too small in the "vc2008 redist installer" and "Firefox 3" [dogfood]
11950 TheBat! 3.99.1 show white squares not icons under wine after 0.9.56
12005 Regression in pressure sensitivity with wizardpen tablet driver and Photoshop 7
12302 Lord of the Rings: Shadows of Angmar unplayable due to high lag
12305 Firefox 3 beta 4 font problem: colon displayed as 0038 unicode glyph-missing glyph [dogfood]
12740 Wine tries to execute non-executable data (regression against 0.9.59)
12879 Cluster size not supported for large NFS mounts?
13227 100% CPU Usage with notepad - with dtrace output
13599 Can't install Autocad 2005
13601 can't compile wine with Xcode 3.1 or iPhone SDK
13713 Hema Album Software Advanced won't start, it crashes and has to be killed.
13748 Last Chaos aborts after clicking 'start' in 0.9.57 and later
13765 ZENcast 2.01.01 Installer Fails to Start
13882 psiops crashes while starting (XStreamlok)
14006 at least one locale missing: eo - (breaks .NET internationalization)
14019 systray icon not displayed in dual screen
14040 Microsoft Virtual Earth 3D beta inner installer aborts when reading registry
14053 Winamp 5.53 fails to start due to a loader crash
14188 utorrent - it disconnects fast leaching peers with Error 10022
14356 alt.binz does not run anymore